Sinn Féin make late application for Belfast parade
Back in August, Brian valiantly attempted to get a debate going about parades and “tolerating things you don’t like, provided they don’t threaten you.” Whilst Mark thought the Royal Irish Regiment homecoming parade in Belfast on 2 November had chosen to include a “needlessly provocative gesture” en route.. Now, as UTV reports, Sinn Féin have lodged a late application with the Parades Commission for a parade in Belfast for up to 500 people on the same day, to start 45 mins before the RIR parade. The Sinn Féin parade is to take in Bank Square, Chapel Lane, Castle Street, Castle Junction, Donegall Place.

people ‘hate’ far too much….
This parade simply won’t happen.
9 County Ulster
“[i]Anyone born on the island of Ireland who bend over backwards mimicking all things english and who want to die as englishmen and join this foreign army and give their allegience to a queen in a different country should be protested against.
The poor slave-minded serfs.”[/i]
LOL, why do you support the English 9 county Ulster then?
I would call upon any supporters of our military who possess personal protection weapons to gather and watch the homecoming parade. If they come under attack and feel lives are being put at risk it could be a good days target practice.
God bless us all! Intelligence Insider has just revealed himslf as William Craig’s Mini-Me.
The Parades Commission will simply not allow it. It’s just SF shit stirring, the Army will be well protected, and the blue bag protestors would crap themselves if they thought the RIR would defend themselves appropriately. I suspect quite a few SF voters just want to return to the ‘good old days’ of killing prods for fun.
Driftwood
They allow oo shit stirring every year why won’t they allow SF shit stirring
suilven, who said iraq was landlocked. Try learning to read before you go off on one eh!
And sorry I did make a mistake, The americans wanted the taliban government to allow them to build oil and gas pipelines through afghanistan to service sites in Turkmenistan , Pakistan and India. These were only able to proceed after the americans went in and invaded the country. So much for hearts and minds and the spreading democracy. [play the ball - edited moderator]
Unionists and Loyalists, we should all come together no matter who we are and put in a parade route to start from the end of the SF parade to where they start from, let the young lads who fought a war to keep us all free no matter who or what we are have a peaceful parade, then we Unionists and Loyalists can keep SF at bay, East Belfast come in from the East of the City, South come up the markets, all the others come in from the town and gather at the City Hall, we all should be there that Sunday to make sure our lads have the right to walk, Unionist and Loyalist no matter what you are, DUP/UUP/PUP/TUV/Orange Order/A.B.of.D/UVF/UDA/Church Groups/ all sign the parade route form and if SF calls it off we call ours off then the lads can have a peaceful parade, only allow the families down to see it and for BBC/UTV/SKY the whole lot put it live on TV for any one to watch, if you dont like it switch the TV off or turn over the film on the other side OR rent out a DVD from the night before. No Surrender and God Save the Queen, all the Belfast City Councillors MPs MEPs and MLAs come down and bring 2 people each to watch the parade.
ciaran,
“The americans wanted the taliban government to allow them to build oil and gas pipelines through afghanistan to service sites in Turkmenistan , Pakistan and India.”
Riiiight. So the Americans are worried about exploiting the oil reserves of the countries with the 49th, 57th and 21st biggest proved oil reserves in the world. Ignoring the fact that India and Pakistan open onto the Indian Ocean. Or that it would be easier to pipe Turkmen oil to Baku to join up with the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan pipeline. Get an atlas before you embarrass yourself with further cretinous geographical faux pas, eh?
silly suilven, if you know about the Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan pipeline then I am sure you are also aware of the political worries that russia has over its existence . No wonder the americans are exploring other routes for pipelines.Massage your brian cell before you make any more of your cretinous faux pas, eh?
Guys
Put the handbags down.
And keep it civil.
This fellow, Robert Cleland, of “Belfast Branch TUV” appears to be urging confrontation by calling for a gathering of forces that would, among other things, “only allow the families down to see it”, which surely must be seen as a clear incitement to use force to prevent freedom of movement by the general public.
Is this call to arms sanctioned by the TUV? Is it normal to invite “Church groups” to engage in violent blockade? Do “Church groups” have a history of responding to this type of incitement such that it is deemed appropriate to call upon them? If so, which Churches might they be?
suilven, if you remember a few weeks ago the russians entered georgia and suddenly the pipeline was closed by bp as a precaution. Then earlier there was the Kurdistan Workers’ Party who blew up part of the pipeline. And there have been other attacks in the last few years. So why not build another pipeline?
anyone with an ounce of wit will already know the outcome of this the dup will be laughing all the way to the bank if the protest goes off. does anyone not think for a minute that cnn and other news crews from the usa have not been informed and will be there
I think people in NI today, (especially the young, naive and thick), subconsciously are really longing for times again when “The Troubles” were at the height of violence. I suspect some people in NI are yearning for the days when people were systematically murdered because of their religion or allegiance! I believe it is part of the NI character overall – cranky, angry, nasty, mean and aggressive etc…with the ultra religious pious types the worse!
Will Rory be calling on SF who are part of the IRA that have guns, bombs, bullets, would he like to say that they are calling for confrontation by not allowing the lads of the RIR to walk the streets of Belfast, these lads went away and did not see friends or families and perhaps saying will we come back alive or in one piece to our friends and families, there is members of the RIR that would be walking from all walks of life, Roman Catholics, Protestants, some other kind of people with these lads the WHOLE community not just Protestants should be coming out and clapping and cheering these lads as they march through Belfast City Center, think back when our football son Best was buried there was people from all walks of life walking up the Upper Newtownards Road, i am a MUFC through and through there was people there from Celtic and Rangers Fans walking side by side WELL let us see that happening again that Sunday for our lads let us all join together on this day, its easy for ones to call a protest like IRA/SF they where fighting behind peoples backs and afraid to face people these lads where not they went to WAR and face to face with the enemy, we should all stand together on this day.
I’ll be attending the eirigi demo. Fair play to them, they forced the shinners into a situation that the shinners don’t want to be in.
Any right thinking individual who takes up Sinn Fein’s offer and participates in their march will look rather foolish. A political party inexplicably linked to the provos protesting against the British Army on the principle that they are killing non combatants. Although I am sure that the main reason they will be protesting is that of occupying a foreign land. Is this a ploy to stir up emotions in the Nationalist community? Maybe SF see new Assembly elections in the Horizon?
Do Sinn Fein not realise that the Irish Army is in Afghanistan too as part of the same mission as the Royal Irish. Admittedly, there’s only seven of them but the number is immaterial; the Irish Government has sent troops there and therefore they’re on the same side as the British. Will the indignant nationalist posters on here be trekking down to Dublin soon to protest at the Defence Forces for their role in Afghanistan. Perhaps they might like to go to America and protest against their troops too? Oh wait, this has nothing to do with Afghanistan, it’s just yesterdays men trying to stoke up sectarian tensions. Luckily the men of the Royal Irish are above that sort of nonsense!
Or steve maybe if the irish government were having a parade for the irish soldiers returning from afghanistan , sinn fein might then have an anti war parade there.
You honestly do not expect a large section of the nationalist community to come out and celebrate the army after suffering 40 years of harrassment from the same army?
ALTHOUGH I HAVE MY RESERVATIONS TO WHY SINN FEIN WOULD WANT TO HAVE A COUNTER PROTEST AT AN OFFICIAL PARADE COMMEMORATING BOTH BRITISH ROYAL IRAISH REGIMENT SOLDIERS AND INDEED IRISH SOLDIERS , BUT AS ALWAYS THEY HAVE THERE IDEOLAGEY, SO I WOULD HOPE AND TRUST THAT SINN FEIN AND ITS SUPPORTERS CAN MAKE THERE PROTEST IN A PEACEFUL MANNER TO WHICH THE SUPPORTERS OF THE OFFICIAL PARADE WILL DO..
Sorry Ciaran, that’s absolute nonsense. If the Irish Army paraded the length of O’Connell Street there’s no way that Sinn Fein would protest. That’s because they don’t care about Afghanistan, as their world begins and ends on the island of Ireland. Events elsewhere matter not, unless they can somehow bring a Brit-bashing dimension to it. This is pure and simple bigotry. So much for an Ireland of Equals where we respect each others differences.
Steve, are you saying that it is impossible for sinn fein to hold a genuine abhorance for the violence in afghanistan and a desire to hold a protest march against that war. Not every action on their part is brit bashing although I have to say to a certain extent the brits do deserve a good bashing now and then.
By the way , surely if the rir men were above this nonsense they would say to hell with a march lets go have a good piss up and remember how they were sent to war with the wrong or no equipment, sent into situations were they had poor intelligence and then left to die by their masters in a country they had no right to be in , in the first place.
Oh dear did I just indulge in a bit of brit bashing?
Ciaran, you know as well as I do they don’t give a toss about Afghanistan, rest assured if Britain backed the Taleban, Sinn Fein would back Karzai. Just look at how they supported the Third Reich instead of the free world in 1939! I think a bit of give and take wouldn’t go amiss. I believe that the Royal Irish, as local boys, have the right to parade through their home towns, equally I believe Sinn Fein have the right to hold rallies at City Hall too, but this is sure mischief making.
And let’s be honest, Sinn Fein showed no abhorrence when their military wing massacred their fellow Irishmen eg Shankill bomb, Teebane, Bloody Friday, etc, etc, etc, etc. So how can you seriously expect us to believe they’re horrified at what happens to the Afghan people? And if they truly do support equality, how they can they oppose those fighting the sectarian, homophobic, and sexist Taleban? Surely they should congratulate the Royal Irish for upholding the values they themselves claim to espouse?
Desperate tactics by SF to appeal to the lowest common denominator. They really are in dire straits. Hoping a good riot or someone killed will rekindle their pathetic image as republicans. The best they can hope for is that they kill a Prod or Brit to restore some prestige. Even better if a scumbag is killed by the police or Army at some ‘activist’ throwing a petrol bomb.Martyr, just going for a pint of milk.
Same old, same old.
Code word here fact
Actually I think sinn fein care about afghanistan quite a bit. And why can they not have an anti war protest? They have not called for anything other than a peaceful protest.
As for the nazi connection that is laughable. I can find no way in which the ira actually did anything to help the nazis. But then again that was the ira and not sinn fein.
“And if they truly do support equality, how they can they oppose those fighting the sectarian, homophobic, and sexist Taleban” ( sounds just like the dup doesn’t it), but just because you don’t like the way their religon treats its own people does not mean you can invade their country. That would be as weak an excuse as the one were they were going after bin laden and his gang. Especially after the taliban offered to turn him over to anyone other than the americans for trial.
The war is wrong the soldiers fighting in it were wrong to go and a peaceful protest is the right thing to do.
driftwood, sinn fein are still the largest nationalist party in the north with no sign of that changing in the near future, so what on earth are you on about.
Does the name Sean Russell mean anything to you? Or the drawing up of lists of the details of Jews living in the South by Sinn Fein? Perhaps you should familiarise yourself with Republican history before making farcical claims. And how can they complain about the plight of Afghan civilians when they showed no interest in the plight of civilians here when the Republican murder gangs roamed the streets? This is Brit bashing. Pure and simple.
steve maybe you should do more than look at the headlines and delve deeper into the story of russell.According to the germans he was not a faciast nor an anti semite. Quite the opposite in fact. He was using the germans to try and rid Ireland of the british.He was of course foolish to expect that the germans would want nothing in return.
The UK Public Records Office has released files which show that, after intensive post-war interrogation of German intelligence agents at the highest level, British intelligence itself concluded in 1946 that “Russell throughout his stay in Germany had shown considerable reticence towards the Germans and plainly did not regard himself as a German agent”.
“The Irishman was a hyper-sensitive Celt who, however willing he might be to use the Germans for his own political ends, regarded the Nazi philosophy as anathema”. That quote came from Erwin Lahousen, the first and most important witness for the prosecution at the Nuremberg War Crimes Trials in 1945 whose evidence ensured that Hitler’s foreign minister Ribbentrop would be sentenced to death.
There is more on russell but I don’t want to spoil it for you when you do look into his story
Sinn fein have condemned murders carried out by the Ira. They have condemned all murders in the troubles as you well know. As for the brit bashing,sinn fein seem able to rise above that and maybe that is whats really annoying you.
I fail to see how Sinn Fein are ‘rising above’ Brit bashing when they are in fact indulging in it. I’m also surprised you believe anything that comes from British intelligence. I presume you believe them when they deny collusion? Of course you do. I am well aware of my history thank you very much. Perhaps you should do some research yourself into Operation Kathleen, details of which have recently been released by Public Records. The IRA involvement makes fascinating reading. I won’t spoil it for you either. But getting back to the main point, Sinn Fein are trying to stoke up tension sure and simple. I still look forward to their protest at the Curragh or wherever they choose to protest at Irish involvement in the murder of Afghan civilians. i presume you’ll be supporting that and are equally ashamed of those with Tricolours on their sleeves serving out there?
If you have read about kathleen and sean hayes then you are extremley foolish using it as part of your argument given what the ira did to hayes.
The extracts I qouted were not all from british intelligence, so easily verifiable.
And yes if the irish government decide to hold a parade for the seven irish soldiers( who by the way are non-combatants-not that, that makes any difference I hasten to add) then I hope that sinn fein or some other party hold an anti war protest march.
And no I am not ashamed of the tricolours they wear, but of those that are wearing them in afghanistan.But please remember, it was the british and americans who invaded that country and then dragged nato in with them. Maybe that is what made their allies so wary about backing the invasion of Iraq.
If you are sincere about that then fair play to you and I respect that, I still believe the true motive behind Sinn Fein holding this protest is anti-Britishness, and nothing to do with Afghanistan. Perhaps if they had showed the same concern for their fellow man 40 years ago things may have been different!
“I still believe the true motive behind Sinn Fein holding this protest is anti-Britishness”
you and every other person. theres no politics or ideals or anything like that behind either protest. just a crowd of morlocks that have been brought up to have an automatic hate reaction to anything british. they dont know how to think any other way and cant adjust to a normal society. they hear of a homecoming parade and think that they have to do something against it. as time goes by, northern ireland is leaving these people further and further behind.
it should be a striking contrast to see the well turned out and neat soldiers walking along compared to the rag bag of scum you know will be out to protest…
“it should be a striking contrast to see the well turned out and neat soldiers walking along compared to the rag bag of scum you know will be out to protest…”
Thats a very sweeping statement, are you saying that anyone who wants to show their disapproval in the afghan conflict or the rir’s part in it are scum?
ciaran, you me and everyone else knows that no one protesting has the foggiest clue about the afghan conflict. those sort of protesters made their point years ago when there were rallies all over the country.
this protest is for people who sleep in their old sniper at work t shirt and have developed a nervous tick due to not being able to riot regularly. they will be the dregs that just cant change from looking for conflict to just getting on with their lives. if they have any sense they will dress things up with banners about such things as ‘unjust war’ etc etc. but we all know its window dressing.
i expect sf will control their lot and try and make them as presentable as possible, which will be difficult. but the dissident ones should be a spectacle.
on newsline the other day, when they reported from the rioting in craigavon, there was graffiti on a wall saying something about ‘stourmont sellout’ . im no great speller, but even i pissed myself at that one. thats the sort of people who will be out protesting.
“Sinn fein have condemned murders carried out by the Ira. They have condemned all murders in the troubles as you well know.”
They’ve condemned all murders in the troubles, have they?
Can you provide us with the link to this revelation ciaran?
Thanks.
Sorry realist I meant all sectarian murders(silly me).
I don’t recall any condemnation by Sinn Fein of Shankill, La Mon, Teebane, etc. They may have made some broad brush statement condemning murder in principle, but they always link it to killings by security forces. I’ve never heard them unequivocally condemn a specific murder by the IRA. Still, I suppose self-criticism is the hardest thing to do.