UUP and TUV meet
The TUV and UUP have held a joint meeting to discuss possible electoral pacts in any forth coming elections. I will reproduce the joint statement below the fold:
Joint statement by Sir Reg Empey MLA and Jim Allister MEP
”Leadership delegations from the Ulster Unionist Party and Traditional Unionist Voice have met to review the unfolding political situation and to discuss ways of maximising the Unionist vote in upcoming elections. In addition the position relating to the Lisbon Treaty and resulting likely developments in the EU were explored.
We had a worthwhile and cordial engagement and look forward to continuing contact.
With the European Election, as the next scheduled election, coming up in June, we agreed on the priority of retaining two unionist representatives in Europe. This should be the overriding priority of all unionists in respect of this election. Such is only attainable by full utilisation of transfers between the unionist candidates. Thus, we agreed to recommend such a voting strategy to all unionist voters.
The UUP delegation consisted of Sir Reg Empey MLA, Jim Nicholson MEP and Danny Kennedy MLA. The TUV delegation consisted of Jim Allister MEP, Ivor McConnell (Party Chairman) and Samuel Morrison (Party Press Officer).”
It is clear that both the UUP and TUV will be running candidates in the European elections and as such there is no suggestion of an electoral pact for Europe. Whether or not there will be further meetings and whether or not the parties will be meeting with the DUP and what they will make of the meeting remains to be seen.

Tell us more, Robert.
“Decent people jump into bed with fenian hating bigots who want to overturn the constitutional settlement?”
Notwithstanding the jibe and gist of your point, which I pretty much agree with, are you referring to the constitutional settlement that has worked so well and delivered so very much for us….?
*That* constipational settlement…?
What would the Conservatives say the TUV are the same as UKIP does this mean the mearger could be off and this is the second best by joining with the TUV
Half Pint
“It’s only on that basis that true Unionists can build unity.”
Yes that’s right lets all listen to Half Pint fellow unionists, walk out of Stormont when the Shinners backs are against the wall wailing about not getting their way. Let’s walk out and let SF/Downing Street/the Oireachtas take over and watch more SF policies like the ILA and the Maze stadium come to fruition. Let’s walk out and show SF that we are not prepared to stand up to them.
Let us instead march back to Antrim, back to Kilskeery, back to the windy steeples of Ballymena and back to Portadown and instead encamp ourselves in our small no surrender enclaves as SF take more as we walk away. All the time saying No Surrender, no Pope here while the Shinners laugh and watch us go and get on with implementing their goals!!!
The old saying “time will tell” i will be back!!
” i will be back!!”
but not tonight, evidently.
Was it not the UUP started the talks with SF, remember the Belfast Agreement they went in and talked to the IRA/SF, what will the ex-members of the DUP who left the DUP to join the TUV think of the party Leader JIM MEP joining up with the UUP, SHAME on you Jim, is Sir Reg not still part of the agreement the agreement that the TUV does not like, seems strange that the TUV are now getting into bed with the UUP, Jim MEP don’t worry when you don’t get the job back again you can always do wee write ups in the News Letter each week, i am sure the big man Dr Paisley will get you say Jim’s Thursdays Morning Breakfast,
Just ask Sammy why did he sent an e.mail talking about certain people and Jim MEP is letting him of the hook, what other party members is he talking about?? what is he saying about his LEADER JIM?? dear knows, the old saying Sammy “be sure your sins will find you out”, that is all for now i am just starting the ball rolling down the hill just watch the papers over the next few weeks HE HA, bye for now folks and i will be BACK!! like the way Gerry said “i have not gone away you know”.
circles – yes i did come back and yes i will be back in my own time JUST ring up to Sammy and ask him “SAMMY AM I BRIGHT” because he know if you are bright or no bright, long, long, long story but worth the asking.
Come on Robert. What have they said about you that was so hurtful and offensive that you’d invite scorn upon your former fundementalist bedfellows. Cupboards hide secrets. Open the door for us Robert…
Is it true that Robert wasthe TUV spokesman for Education?
Can we expect more of this as the combined unionist vote drops below that of SF and the SDLP i.e. the next 5 years. Should be interesting.
BP,
“Yes that’s right lets all listen to Half Pint fellow unionists, walk out of Stormont when the Shinners backs are against the wall wailing about not getting their way.”
Remind me – just why has the exec not met for months on end?
“Let’s walk out and let SF/Downing Street/the Oireachtas take over and watch more SF policies like the ILA and the Maze stadium come to fruition.”
Perhaps you would like to tell us why Donaldson is on record as saying that Westminister would not intro an ILA?
And why a Unionist 1st Minister lobbied Europe for money for a shrine at the Maze? Have the DUP ruled this out? If they have, I haven’t heard them.
“Let’s walk out and show SF that we are not prepared to stand up to them. “
Going into gov with the IRA is not, by any conservable measure, “standing up to them”.
“Let us instead march back to Antrim, back to Kilskeery, back to the windy steeples of Ballymena and back to Portadown and instead encamp ourselves in our small no surrender enclaves as SF take more as we walk away. All the time saying No Surrender, no Pope here while the Shinners”
What’s that? A history of the DUP up until last year in a paragraph?
Half Pint
“Remind me – just why has the exec not met for months on end?”
It hasn’t met primarily it would seem because Gerry Adams has thrown a hissy fit because SF haven’t been able to have all their demands met. Something they would have had under the TUV favoured Direct Rule.
Its a shame that republicans haven’t got their head around the fact that power sharing doesnt = acceptance of all their demands, but in my mind stalemate is still better than SF having goodies handed to them on a plate by Direct Rule Ministers.
What’s your problem with the DUP anyway Half Pint, other than they’re slightly worse lundies than your new electoral partners in the UUP. Not sure how it all mixes with the TUV “come ye out from among them and be ye separate” idea though. Wonder will there be protests at the TUV ‘conference’ at this unholy Alliance you’ve formed with a partner in the evil Executive…..
Maybe daddy was meeting the UUP to discuss whether or not he should make all his expenses public, but I suppose that would be far too much for the public to expect. Chairman Jim has steadfastly refused to bow to anything like telling the public where all the public’s money goes in terms of MEP expenses.
Also looks like a bit of internal discipline in the good-ship Holywood Road wouldn’t go amiss either…… Hope Sammy’s outbox hasn’t been deleted anyway!
New name for this group. United Ulster Unionist Coalition? Nope already been taken. I seem to recall a thread with Dewi and others some time back where we tried to count all the various unionist parties, coalitions, splinters etc. There were over 50 and counting before boredom set in. James Craig must be spinning like a rotor blade beneath the car park at Stormont.
The UUP leadership make the IFA look competent.
CC,
It hasn’t met because the DUP granted the Provos a veto over all issues. It hasn’t met because mandatory coalition is unworkable.
Secondly, the DUP have accepted they wouldn’t get all these things under direct rule. See Donaldson’s comments re ILA in Guardian some weeks back.
My problem with both Unionist parties is that they are Lundies. That’s why we need a third.
What happen is that Mr Sammy Morrison slandered another full member by e.mail to Central Secretary Karen Bowl, the e.mail was passed to me by mistake, Sammy forgot to delete it SILLY BOY, now we have Jim MEP he has not got the guts to discipline Sammy or Karen not even an apology to the member, no i was NEVER a spokesman for Education for the TUV i was Belfast Branch Secretary and Treasurer two post that i took on and i always looked forward and worked hard to do, the other person a senior member of the party NOT Education member, he would have made a very good Candidate for any future elections in Belfast say for local Council for the TUV, BUT Sammy gave an NEGATIVE perception of a very up and coming young member, this is a bloke (SAMMY) that would stand up and says prayers and read the open Bible before a Branch Meeting would start, WHAT part of the Bible Sammy Morrison does it tell you to slander other very good ex-hard workers of the party before they came an ex member, please feel free folks to ring Sammy and Jim MEP to ask them why do they slander their own members, SHAME ON THEM TWO, just to let other members know your name could be talked about by people in head quarters.
Tell Tale
As I am aware of the current disenchantment within the party I will enlighten you. As your comments suggest, you are missing the issue completely. Bringing the party into disrepute and lack of action by Jim Allister to address the matter is the main concern. If Sammy Morrison and Karen Boal are allowed to have a free reign when it relates to misconduct then there will be complete anarchy within the party.
To robert cleland – ever heard of the ‘big picture’?
In general, the question I have is: who is Jim Nicholson? He has turned into a Cecil Walker type figure. You never hear much from him until election time. If the UUP/Conservative merger is to mean anything, they should find a new candidate for Europe.
The truth is that the Nationalist community sees the TUV as a shower of bigoted, sectarian, fundamentalist knuckledraggers who long for a return to majority Protestant rule. That the UUP fails to even recognise this and enters an electoral pact with them convinces me MORE THAN EVER that there is really NO main difference between the DUP, UUP or TUV. They are ALL driven by an Afrikaaner apartheid mindset which demands that Taigs be kept in their place and restricts their influence or say in the affairs of Norn Iron. Their ONLY disagreement is JUST how restricted the Fenians should be kept. The TUV wants the Negro cotton field status kept on them with the overseers wipping them to keep then in place; the DUP doesn’t really want anything to do with them but is prepared to let them entertain them on the mouth organ so long as they stay out in the huts while the UUP will just about accept them in the kitchens. It is horrible racist bile of the worst kind. Meanwhile the good old boys in Sinn Fein and the SDLP are quite happy to play the Uncle Tom roles at Stormont and prolong this ridiculous Stormont farce so long as they get their pay cheques.
To LURIG – You could replace your post with: “The truth is that the Unionist community sees the Pan-Nationalist Front (SDLP/Sinn Fein/PIRA) as a shower of bigoted, sectarian, Roman Catholic knuckle draggers who long for minority Roman Catholic rule in Northern Ireland.”
Poor Sammy could be singing for his supper if he doesn’t watch mouth. You can’t spew Rev. Foster-esque verbal diarhhoea about other TUV members and get away with it.
Following on from “wanking” Blaine Bailey, Sammy could be coming the 2nd member to get suspended.
By the way Sammy (we all know you read this), what HAS happened to Blaine Bailey? Partaking of his fav. “sports” no doubt?
Oh well, with Sammy’s fast approaching department from Philip’s Jim’s Holywood Road office perhaps this may provide another seat of the gravy train for a further Allister child? (No pressing questions please)
Robert-
How many members are there left in Belfast TUV? Not many it would seem. Perhaps only saved from the wooden spone prize by QUB TUV.
Where does Charlie Tosh – Belfast Branch TUV Chair – sit in this situation?
Are my sources correct that he is defending member Cleland?
I don’t know where your getting your information from? The dreaded Harry Toan is the chairman of the Belfast Branch!
Have to agree with DSD.
The UUP were just about to pull off the biggest masterstroke that could re-enthuse those garden centre unionists that have stayed at home for the last 10 years.
UUP need to realise that the last voters to leave you will be the first to come back provided you give them something to vote for.
Are we really to believe that Unionists would be so shallow as to reject a comprehensive movement stitched in to the heart of the Union at Westminster just because the DUP have shinier offices and better spin doctors.
This is short-termism at its predictable worst.
I like Reg, but he can be incredibly stupid some times.
I predict McFarland will be re-examining the political knife!
What is wrong with wanting to keep fenians in their place and restricts their influence and say in the affairs of Norn Iron?
Watchman,
So nice to see you care. I am back in the UK but currently on the mainland. I plan to be back in NI before the Euro election though and well in time to plan for the 2011 Assembly elections.
There’s little doubt that those wards will boost the pro-union vote, though I agree that the degree is uncertain.
Three out of four of them almost certainly have Catholic majorities by now. So they won’t boost the ‘pro-Union’ vote, no matter how much you want them to. No serious commentator here has suggested they will but I’m supposed to listen to some Toryboy on Slugger?
Have fun transferring to Jim Allister.
I cannot make up my mind if this is some kind of Unionist three card trick or a political version of musical chairs.
All I know is that if I were a unionist voter I would have to get my thinking hat on and perhaps some divine inspiration to help decipher on which side of the fence if there is a fence the unionist parties are parked.
“What is wrong with wanting to keep fenians in their place and restricts their influence and say in the affairs of Norn Iron?”
uhm…it’s racist?
“Three out of four of them almost certainly have Catholic majorities by now. So they won’t boost the ‘pro-Union’ vote, no matter how much you want them to. No serious commentator here has suggested they will but I’m supposed to listen to some Toryboy on Slugger?”
You have really got a bee in your bonnet about this. Can you direct me to where these ‘serious commentators’ have analysed this?
On the subject of transfers, will your party even be running a candidate next year and, if not, who will you be supporting?
Back to Ballinamallard – Your Answer to Charlie Tosh i have nothing to hide so here it goes, Charlie was at the first meeting of the Belfast Branch and he took the chair at the start of the meeting, came to the election Harry Toan was put into the chair, Charlie was put into Vice-Chair BUT did Charlie want that NO!! he is loaded with money and money can talk, so the following month Charlie wanted to set up his own Branch in South Belfast HOW!! can you set up a South Belfast Branch when it is called BELFAST BRANCH??, so what did Charlie do since he did not get his way he ran away CRYING to Jim MEP packed in the chair never to return NOT!! to a meeting but to stay a member of the TUV, until SAMMY MORRISON the bloke that talks about every one by sending e.mails to party members (SORRY!! i had to get that in) contacted me just after the Summer holidays to say please put Charlie back on the post again, the last time i went down to a meeting to hand over all the MONEY to HARRY TOAN he was still Chairman, i have witnesses HARRY outside the Orange hall Albertbridge Road in East Belfast, in October 2008 i was then the Treasurer and acting Secretary, i will say again Jim MEP has not got the balls to discipline Sammy Morrison or Karen Bowl SHAME on you Jim, if you have not got the back bone to discipline how can you have the back bone to fight for Northern Ireland to keep it British, do us all a good turn Jim and get out since you don’t have a back bone in your body. Going to the UUP how low can you go Jim MEP will your next step be SF?? you take one seat i Jim MEP will take another then leave the third to the DUP/UUP/SDLP to fight it out, i know where my vote will not be going to that is NOT!! YOU!! JIM!! along with about another 12 of my family members since you don’t have a back bone in your body.
Robert-
Tell them about what they did to wee Andrewv Stead and big Muriel Sands.
Concerned TUV Member, East Belfast – ?? is that Muriel Sands from the DUP?? South Belfast?? never heard of them in the TUV sorry and Andrew??
Concerned TUV Member, East Belfast – If that is Muriel Sands that i think it is and if the TUV dont anything to her i would be the first one to hit back, if this is the same person i know please let me know what happen, i have very good respect for Muriel i have knowing her for some years plenty of years that is.
Is it true that Robert used to be in the DUP? Why did he leave?
Tory
Sammy Morse is “a serious commentator” – as his website illustrates. He stated “Three out of four of them almost certainly have Catholic majorities by now. So they won’t boost the ‘pro-Union’ vote, no matter how much you want them to. No serious commentator here has suggested they will but I’m supposed to listen to some Toryboy on Slugger?”
So can you provide a basis for your rebuttal of his conention by pointing to a serious commentator to back up your view?
T Ruth – Yes i use to be a DUP member but once i let the Council i got a good lady on my side and left the field altogether, it was not until a few years later when the trouble started in Clun Place i was asked by the local people to help out in some way to which i did, Councillor Michael Copland and his wife was down every night and day, his wife and i wrote stuff down when we where there, stones coming over, blast bombs the works, Peter the MP came down a few times and he did help out, only the last Assembly Elections my other half said get out and help the DUP you still like it, i did the last 2 weeks and i enjoyed it, i have spoken my word to the likes of Peter MP not behind closed doors, i have every respect for Peter he is a very hard worker in East Belfast and i can NEVER take that away from him, after what happen to me in the TUV i wash my hands of them, Peter knows this if anyone wants to ask him, i am not afraid and never go behind a close door the next election i will be helping Peter MP since i see him not as an MP or MLA but i see him as a friend of the family he as knowing me and my family for years, YES i enjoyed my first term in office working for the people of East Belfast and working to keep the flag flying for the DUP my second term i could not wait until i got out of it, i have grown up within the DUP and like the way Gerry Adams would say once a Republican always a Republican i would say perhaps the same as me once a DUP always a DUP, for the TUV to go to the UUP how low can they get they are just as bad.
#
“What is wrong with wanting to keep fenians in their place and restricts their influence and say in the affairs of Norn Iron?”
uhm…it’s racist?
Posted by abc on Oct 14, 2008 @ 02:38 PM
why? its no more racist to keep nationalists out of power that it is for a labour supporter to want to keep the tories out of power.
nationalism and unionism are political opposites
So, Robert, is Peter a good principled man?
“Tory
Sammy Morse is “a serious commentator” – as his website illustrates. He stated “Three out of four of them almost certainly have Catholic majorities by now. So they won’t boost the ‘pro-Union’ vote, no matter how much you want them to. No serious commentator here has suggested they will but I’m supposed to listen to some Toryboy on Slugger?”
So can you provide a basis for your rebuttal of his conention by pointing to a serious commentator to back up your view?”
Sammy is a commentator for sure, but one who is very clear a staunch supporter of his own party. He has a very clear interest in putting down Conservative / UUP chances in south Belfast. Whatever his reading of demographic spreadsheets and trends suggests, the fact is that he has no firm evidence of how the people in those wards vote. I personally believe that Hillfoot and the two Carryduff wards would have pro-union majorities just from on-the-ground knowledge.
T RUTH – what ever Peter MP does as an MP that is up to him he will go to the people and if people backs him he will get in, if the people on the ground says NO!! he would be out of a job, i have very high respect for Peter as a friend first and then as an MP for East Belfast, there is plenty of things that Peter as done over the years i did not like BUT i have told him face to face, deep down in my heart i still do beleive that people in East Belfast will keep voting for Peter, if Peter did not get in i would say he be the first to say the people have spoken, as an MP he works very hard for East Belfast, if you dont believe me go to his office and see the work he as done over the years, from helping people with housing problems to police problems to roads, to jobs, Peter like many of the MPs and MEPs and Councillors would keep a record of the work they have done, i done that when i got into the Council and i used my own home as a base and it was open for anyone to come around and see the work i done, i keep a list of names and each person had a reference number.
So he you wouldn’t have a big problem with him then?
One of the blogs I did a few weeks ago seems particularly relevant in view of the turn this thread has taken. Here is a part of it:
“Like all new political parties the TUV have the danger of attracting assorted lunatics. These, like the zombies in the Night of the Living Dead series are attracted towards the living with usually fatal consequences for the living. The fact that the TUV are at one end of the NI political spectrum merely enhances the attraction for the politically insane / undead. Fortunately such people unlike zombies tend to tire rapidly and then to wander aimlessly off muttering about how everyone is wrong other than themselves.
Losing the mad is of course part of the evolution of a political party and periodically other mad people do reanimate.”
It seems somehow relevant at this point.
Don’t worry Turgon there’s more than enough nutters, fuitcakes and gadflies inside the TUV to make up for any collatoral wastage/loss.
“Don’t worry Turgon there’s more than enough nutters, fuitcakes and gadflies inside the TUV to make up for any collatoral wastage/loss.”
LOL!
Will the sock puppets on this site please desist.
Turgon
Does the truth hurt?
It would be helpful if you didn’t umbrella everyone as mad who have left the party. It makes you come across as rather dull. In fact you would be more likely to be insane if you still belonged to the party in question.
Common sense,
I am sorry to label anyone as mad but I am concerned that you are using exactly the same IP address as Robert Cleland. As such I am concerned that you are doing what is called “sock puppeting” That is generally not allowed on this discussion board as it degrades the quality of debate.
Since you have not posted here before I am merely going to ask you to explain that more than one person uses your computer or else stop commenting using multiple assumed identities.
The same applies to Carson’s Cat / autocue.
If it keeps happening I will be forced to start removing comments. Regulars to slugger know full well that I do not remove comments from my blogs but we cannot have a situation whereby people degrade the whole quality of debate: it can be at times sharp, caustic and even a little insulting, everyone here knows the rules. However, we do have to maintain a level playing field.
Please stick to one name / nickname for a thread.
It’s true that Robert Cleland is using my computer to send messages to this website. But I am not Robert Cleland. Robert clearly identifies himself when commenting. When I comment I use the nickname “common sense”.
Again you presume more than you know. I am a regular on this site, but for this topic I have decided not to use my regular username (as it may give away my identity).
common sense,
That is fine and I will happily take your word for it. I hope you do understand the need to ensure that sock puppeting is kept to an absolute minimum.