Sinn Féin MLA resigns from party
Sinn Féin MLA for Fermanagh & South Tyrone, Gerry McHugh, has resigned from the party although from what I can gather he intends to remain in the Assembly as an independent MLA. I’ll add his own statement on his reasons for resigning when available but, for now, here’s the party’s version of events from Sinn Féin Assembly Group Leader John O’Dowd. Adds From the Irish News [subs req]
“I have been increasingly disillusioned with the totally undemocratic nature of the party and the wholly top-down dictation within it,” Mr McHugh said. “I feel the direction Sinn Féin is taking is more about appeasement of the British government and administrating British rule in Ireland rather than working towards the end of British occupation. Assembly structures support this – at both committee and plenary level unionists have majority control. What was agreed at St Andrews cannot be delivered without unionist approval.”
Update The Assembly biog of Gerry McHugh now notes his Independent status.Also from the Irish News report
“In the new year I will hold a series of public meetings to give people the chance to discuss the issues which are a priority for them and I will be inviting like-minded people to join me,” he said.
“I want to assure the electorate that I will continue to work hard for them both nationally and locally.”
Mr McHugh said Sinn Féin’s decision to endorse policing in the north was a “factor” in his decision.
“I have no difficulties with the idea of civil policing but I have a difficulty with the excessive amounts of MI5 and military spooks operating in the six counties,” he said.
……
“The fact that the PSNI is being used by MI5 for political policing here should be a major concern for everybody here,” he said.
Mr McHugh said he could use his independent status to further republicanism.
“I think I can bring forward the political republican agenda and fellow republicans as an independent and not be constrained by difficulties we have in the assembly with parties trying to appease each other, he said.

[Once more. Drop the sock-puppets - edited moderator]
May I put a question to some of those supporters of SF who have posted to this thread, if McHugh had not resigned from the party, would you on a public platform have mentioned the lady in question, If not then perhaps you should take a long hard look at your behavior.
I find this type of behavior sad as many if not most of the shinners I have dealt with over the years are fine people, it is as if when an issue like this arises some members and supporters seem to loose control and attempt to browbeat by any means political opponents down, especially if those opponents are republicans too. This type of behavior seems to me to be more prevalent in the north than the south, which is perhaps understandable but this does not make it correct.
Many of those who were tagged dissidents have slowly come to realize, as Frank S and others have pointed out that it is possible to have differences with fellow republicans without descending into the gutter.
I do not understand why shinners need to strike low blows as they have a sound argument about McHugh resigning his seat, although myself I do not see it as for me political considerations over-ride moral issues, but then I would say that as I see stormont as a swamp all be it a swamp that needs a non SF republican voice.
Well, if it was a case that a partner had influence over his decision that is sad.
Mick,
It’s not nice stuff to witness, like a red mist descending and all possibility of putting a legitimate and coherent point getting lost in a desire to lash out.
Those involved should, as you suggest, really examine their behaviour. The only thing they damage is the reputation of the party they belong to with these childish attacks.
They should deal with the politics instead of jumping into a sewer. The strange thing is I’m sure those involved in the attacks are normally decent people and for some reason lose the run of themselves when faced with an opponent who is also Republican.
Ah cheer up Mick, I’m not the one that ran to the press to sort out my differences! Shame on anyone calling themselves a republican and going over their comrades heads to the press, it is a despicable act and deserves all the sarcasm its attracting. When have the press ever done McHugh or indeed Swift a favor? Have they not been trained to handle the press? This time they decided to use it against comrades and that is lower than low in my book. Actually worse than being an informer! Even if you disagree with certain party issues, these should be dealt with quietly and professionally, not by releasing condemnations in the Irish News. Would you not agree? I am sure there is many a republican who do not sit comfortably at the moment but they have the decency to bring their concerns to the relevant people at an appropriate time. Shame on them both!
Here Here
Yes, I must admit that I haven’t seen much in the local papers from Gerry of late, in fact, not for a long time. There was a time when he was in the paper every week but he sure made up for it on Monday!
It also seems that all we have heard is about the problems Gerry had with the party but from what I hear he had been doing his own thing for quite a while and the party where less than amused with his carry on. Picking and choosing what he attended and didn’t attend like an Independant anyway. Seems he was a law unto himself anyway, so its best he does his own thing now.
On a political level when a politician gets to that point they are flying their own balloon and not that of their party anyway. Its seemingly alright for him to call the parties accountability into question but that works both ways! What about Mr McHugh’s accountability? Was he doing his utmost for the electorate? Was he taking guidance and support from the people around him? It seems he was not, that lately Gerry seemed to hold everyone and everything in contempt. That speaks volumes for his own personal frame of mind and judgment! It seems that he isolated himself from everyone of late for whatever reason, people who he had worked with for years. Perhaps he needs to take a complete break from political life and sort out his personal life before entering into the ring as an Independant!
It will be very interesting to see, won’t it?
Tara, TdT, EWiB, CT
why dont you all turn round and speak to each other rather than subjecting us to your blathering
Yes, despite his misgivings with certain decisions taken by leadership, what about all the other important issues he could have been addressing in the past few months. That is why we voted for him as a Sinn Fein representative, and he did not keep his side of the bargain, prefering instead to nit pick and cavort with the press on the wrong issues.
For those who say I may be giving a Gerry a hard time, after the press release he issued to the Irish News, is it not my right to speak back and to call his actions into question? By issuing his statement in the wording he did, he not only called the leadership into question….he called every single person who voted for him into question.
As a life long republican I am angry at Mr McHughs actions, he used to be my comrade, he now tries to put himself above me and his voters. The electorate will not stand for this and he will be crucified at the polling stations. Perhaps this is why he needs to hang on so desperately to the seat he has under false pretenses.
It is very sad to see so called republicans resorting to the gutter and the usual name blackening instead of discussing the political issues this debate has highlighted. The management in Fermanagh know full well how badly they have handled this county for a very long time. Gerry did go through the correct structures of complaint but as sf activists in the county know full well they were completely ignored. All the sf councillors signed a letter expressing the same complaints but that was ignored too. Michelle Gildernew was perfectly aware of the situation and is lying through her teeth. As for the press Gerry has made his statement, he chose not involve any more national media. When the full inquiry ordered by sinn fein leadership is undertaken then we’ll see. In the meantime stick to the facts.
I have to say, as a life long active republican, can I disassociate myself from the nasty spiteful, bitter and absolutely disgraceful comments about Gerry.So do we judge politicians on their relations now in Fermanagh, in Stormont or the Executive there would be many a red face!!! For Fuck sake let the man go with the dignity he deserves having committed most of his life to the cause, fight harder at the next election and win the seat back but for fuck sake behave like republicans
Dear “rent a character assanination” I think we have as much right to express our views as anyone else here. When you play with fire it has a nasty habit of burning a little, so get over yourself!
If I was calling the leadership of Sinn Fein into question [text -removed - save us the lurid man playing - mod>].I would expect to be talked about too.
I will go away now and let the man “go with dignity”, he had that choice himself, he lost his dignity when he resorted to the gutter press!
Jesus Tara & Co,if you have no self respect then at least respect the movement you appear to be advocating, do you know how bad you appear ? do you care?
Tara
“If I was calling the leadership of Sinn Fein into question and sleeping with the daughter of a high ranking british enemy”
that about sums up the comments of you and the rest. attack the leadership and we will smear you over the web. your attacks are disgusting and your idea of political discourse is fascist. Its not hard to see who you work for. I’ll go on now my point is made and i know when to leave it (unlike yourselves). By the way good luck when you get stuck into the radio phone ins and letters to the editor pages tomorrow
Cornered rats eat each other. no matter how much you try blackening Gerry or the very talented woman he has working for him the end of the erne east empire presided over by a self appointed leader who others blindly follow is near. The leadership with gerry’s co-operation will ensure that. This is a wake-up call for them they have ignored the grass roots activits in their hurry to get into power. better to have gone slower and brought all of the people with them.
Erne East empire, I am completely lost! Self appointed leaders who are blindly followed? I don’t follow at all?
Sean Lynch
[repeated sock-puppetry and impersonation = Red Card - moderator]
That last comment is not from me the “real” saveus and I would ask Mick to look at it as there appears to be a lot of mixing on this site today.
Erne West the commentary has been a disgrace from republicans,read my original post on this issue. Many of Gerrys criticisms are valid, regardless if they are the reasons he left or not sin e.
For you a simple answer dont vote for him next time better still go join SF and actively canvas against him,
Discussions on why Republicans are falling out is fascinating to someone like me who never for one moment supported the physical force tradition, a kind of elephant in the room as far as I am concerned (unless one subscribes to the view that to support the peace process one has to have amnesia).
I didn’t post that last comment
Erne west is the best
you are a complete asshole you havent a clue what your talking about FIRSTLY Gerry McHugh is a very hard working cllr and one of only a few that actually does good work for the area he represents. You said “When I needed help with a query it was the girls in the office with their professionalism that gave me the support and answers that I needed. Thats the biggest load of shite i have ever heard any time when i phoned that office that no one ever answered, maybe they were to busy smoking out the back? you actually sound like your one of the “girls in the office” blowing your own trumpet, the knifes are out for Gerry now, and anyone that knows him wont believe the rubbish your speaking. Tell the truth your not a Erne west voter, because if you were you had THREE SF cllrs in Erne West that you could have contacted at any time, Gerry not being one of them. I suspect i know who you are and this is personal between yourself and Gerry.
Gerrys departure from sinn fein will no doubt affect a few office staff and their wages?
[get back to the ball - edited moderator]
Stick to the politics or is that beyond your capabilities. out of interest there is an ex army soldier on the monument to volunteers killed in roslea he was good enough to be a republican.
Having gone back and reading the previous few pages i am totally shocked that some of the people leaving messages especially,TARA,MERRY CHRISTMAS and MARY. you all have really lowered yourself to start talking about someones private life and their relationship with someone. It really sounds like you are all current Sinn Fein members and are trying to damage Gerry’s reputation, you all seem to know alot more than the ordinary Sinn Fein voter would regurding Gerry’s personal life, you cant convince me otherwise
. If this is the level of your political intelligence and how you can engage debates i would recommend that you also resign from the party as your an embarssment.
what a surprise out of 8 councillors in strabane only 3 volunteered for the policing boards the spare seats were donated to the DUP. perhaps Gerry had a point I was told recently in Dungannon it was the same there they had to coerce people into joining. Perhaps the sf leadership will start listening now and review their direction. The people on the ground as well as those in elected position should stop vilifying everyone who doesn’t toe party line and look at ways of including them in discussion that is acted upon before more supporters walk. most people who signed up to policing didn’t read the small print and trusted that party leadership could deliver what they promised. roll on may 8th.
Merry Christmas and Mary you should try and disguise yourself abit better seeing as your both the same person as your Email proves
Email marychristmas@yahoo.co.uk.
Your obviously not to BRIGHT.
Very Very pathetic, writing questions and then answering them YOURSELF. What and who’s agenda are you working to, its certainly not a Republican one.
Mick,
To clarify from earlier you said Gerry confirmed he was not an ex-prisoner. He was interned though?
It was raised as an issue by the SF cadre loading the thread with smears so it might be helpful to clarify if his prison based credentials equal that of their non-IRA leader.
no gerry was never interred.
Mick Hall,
it is possible to have differences with fellow republicans without descending into the gutter.
It’s the nature of some humans, regardless of their political affiliation. This latest SF-multi-persona reminds me of the SDLP-multi-persona who entertained this website after the Assembly elections.
it may appear to be the nature in some humans but definately all politicians.
Not to worry i`m sure the chuckie sorri chuckle twins and donald will be giving us nice people a beautiful golf course with 1,600 new houses etc (when one door closes another one opens for sweeney and the gang)
Can we have a nice casino to go with it (what`s that u say) we`re getting 1 each for the lads.
I can just imagine the headache this will give the land registery office. But nothing to fear as long as its all boxed off with whitehall as part of their retirement fund. We could call it the TREASON LINKS.
Tara, Christmas Turkey, etc,
Your comments have been nothing short of a disgrace. Really.
First off, you are making all types of claims about what Gerry didn’t do, ie. go through the proper channels before going to the press.
Its quite obvious that you have no clue what you are talking about. Did you read the Fermanagh Herald yesterday? There were numerous attempts to go through the ‘proper channels’ but to no avail. No surprise really. Tell me this though, if someone resigns are you suggesting that they should not explain themselves to the public via an appropriate media outlet? Shou,d they just leave it open to speculation, or better still allow people like you to explain it? Judging by your comments here i’m sure all neutrals, at least, will see the sense in him being pro-active in explaining himself.
Secondly, all this talk that he stood as SF so he should no resign the seat is pure hypocrisy. Full stop. SF had absolutely no problems with people who stood as one thing, only later to join SF, bringing with them their seat, won under another label. So any SF’ner who is not just as indignant and calling for SF and the likes of Billy Leonard (RUC/SDLP Cllr), Thomas Pringle (Independent Cllr Donegal, in SF, now back out) and Gerry Murray (FF Cllr, now SF) to hang their heads in shame is an absolute hypocrite and fool.
Totally agree with you Redhaze some of the comments by these people were a discrace, but i suspect that they had a personal grudge with gerry to settle.
From the Impartial Reporter
Fermanagh/south Tyrone MLA Mr. Gerry McHugh has resigned from Sinn Fein citing “bullying†from leadership at a local level.
The Enniskillen Councillor said that “local bullying†was the catalyst behind his recent resignation. Describing himself as “hamstung†by the party, he said his questioning of Sinn Fein Minister Conor Murphy about Enniskillen’s congestion problems in the Stormont Assembly had got him in “considerable troubleâ€.
“I can say what I like now in the Assembly chamber. To me that makes a big difference. It is with tremendous regret I have to leave the party. I have worked hard for them through the years. There have to be good reasons for someone like me to walk away,†he said.
A member of Sinn Fein since 1980, he said he has noticed changes within it in recent years.
“Locally how I did my work would have been questioned all the time. I would have been bullied into how I did my work. It put particular pressure on me personally to actually make this move. I feel with my experience I know well enough how I did my work and what I should put in the press. Sometimes I did not agree with the party on what to say on a subject including the NIPSA strike.
I was demanded to speak on behalf of the party and I wasn’t sure it was the right thing for Fermanagh. Independent thought is not certainly encouraged in our part of the locality,†he said.
“Since I have gone into the Assembly . . . the driving forward for a united Ireland seems to be on a back burner in order to keep co-operation with the two big parties.
“Since I have been elected I have noticed a considerable change away from what people wanted to where we are now.
“I am not isolated on this,†he said.
He rejected claims that the party had not been made aware of his concerns. He said he and all other the Sinn Fein Councillors on Fermanagh District Council 12 months ago, excepting Pat Cox who was away, wrote to the party’s Six County Committee about concerns they had, including issues surrounding policing.
Asked if there was a crisis in Sinn Fein in Fermanagh he said: “That is for them to decide whether or not they areâ€.
At Assembly level he found he “could not always speak on issues that I wanted to for Fermanagh in particularâ€. “The Roads DRD committee has 11 members, none of them west of the Bann. Three Sinn Fein members are east of Bann. Imagine the kind of representation we are getting,†he said.
He referred to the dictatorship within the party. “We would have a code of regulations on how to say things and how to do things actually from the Six County committee. That is a few people who are Belfast-based,†he said.
He loses a base in the Sinn Fein Market Street office in Enniskillen but said constituents could contact him on his mobile phone.
“I intend to work on the local and political agenda in a Republican way. I will use my platform in a Republican way,†he said.
Earlier this year Councillor Poilin Ui Cathain resigned her seat over the issue of policing and in recent months Councillor Bernice Swift was suspended from the party over her comments about policing.
The 3 amego`s run the show. u say as they say u do as they say. suffer all the little sheep
DISCONTENTION WILL NOT BE TOLERATED They haven`t gone away ye know.
What utter dribble!
Bloody hell, what went on in that thread goes a long way to confirm McHugh’s view of SF.
I think there was even somebody attacking him for “questioning the leadership.”
Blackshirts in waiting..
Only one winner when people talk like this and that won’t be SF, McHugh, or any contributors to this site.
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=NHOf3s70w-c
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=o6KLpIDbfTw