Flute band controversy continues…
THE row over the Pride of the Raven (see vid) flute band’s controversial parade planned for November 24 continued on Talk Back just now. Band spokesman ‘Nigel’, said the band’s intention to walk down Donegall Pass (after a protest at the Parades Commission’s offices) was to reach Alliance Assembly member Anna Lo‘s office. The reasons why are detailed here, but the spokesman denied the accusation that this was to intimidate the Chinese community. He also refused to comment on the BNP jumping on the bandwagon, after the party lent its support to the band and had a dig at Lo. Responding, Lo appealed for the march to be called off, and said a letter from the band to Chinese residents explaning their march would probably cause even more fear in that community. She also denied that she had placed the matter in the public domain, saying the band had generated the publicity itself, which she was asked to respond to. Lo also revealed that her initial letter to the band organiser – which the recipient claimed compromised his security – was suggested by the police, who provided her with the bandsman’s address, although the band makes numerous appearances on Youtube. The band seems to be blaming everyone but the Strandtown police, who are the only party in this dispute not to have made any comment on the matter, despite having a central role in the whole affair.

Which is not to say that immigrants cannot end up involved in Republicanism – Freddie Scappaticci etc.
Harry, you conveniently ignored my point that there is no housing available in the Bogside. A chinese family wouldn’t be able to find a house in the bogside but there’s loads in Kilfennan. The same applies in Belfast as well you know.
McGrath your 8.44 posting reminds me of an attack that happened on the Woodstock Rd in the 70′s.
A chemist owned by a catholic who lived on the premises was petrol bombed. The family made a queit bust hasty retreat and moved elsewhere.
Some weeks later a family from India took up residence and the place was again attacked with some of the assailants shouting fenian bastrads catholics out.
The new resident came out in an attempt to reason with the attackers he told them I’m a Hindu. To whish they replied aye right but what kind of Hindu are you a prod one or a taig one.
OSWALD MOSLEY 1970 ON THE IRISH PROBLEM http://www.oswaldmosley.com/um/10points.html
9. The Irish Problem
“THE ultimate solution to the Irish problem is the union of that country within a united Europe. But the bloodshed must first be brought to an end by a free vote on a county basis in each of the Six Counties and a subsequent readjustment of the border. The bulk of the Catholic population in the North would then be ruled (as is their wish) from Dublin, with a lessening of present tensions, the I.R.A. would lose it bases in the North and the British Army would have a much shorter border to patrol against infiltration from the South. In this improved situation agreement could more easily be reached on the eventual union of Ireland, with the rights of the then Protestant minority protected and guaranteed by European government.”
With expressed views like this I can’t see an Oswald Mosley Memorial Flute Band coming soon!
As the story goes before the troubles Catholics used to like nothing more on the 12th than going out to cheer on the parading bands… but has there ever been a Catholic band member in any band ever – either out of the closet or under cover?
Doesn’t count, they are not Norn Iron Prods. Its a tribalism thing.â€
A Chinese UDA commander is by no means out of the question. Something almost as odd has actually happened.
Posted by Petran on Nov 01, 2007 @ 08:56 PM
Ah, but he would first have to be born into his tribe, like those Italians and Egypians you infer, and demonstrate all the necessary sectarian and racial prerequisites.
Which is not to say that immigrants cannot end up involved in Republicanism – Freddie Scappaticci etc.
Posted by Petran on Nov 01, 2007 @ 08:59 PM
I’m sure half of West Belfast thought the Scappaticci’s were from Co. Cork, or somewhere really far away like that.
this is a song for all the bandsmen who may have found themselves caught up in trouble,usually out of character and in circumstances beyond their control.
In the ghetto
As the UVF flag flies
On a cold and gray East Belfast mornin’
He gets woke by a taxi beepin its horn
In the ghetto
And his mama cries
‘cos if there’s one thing that she don’t need
is for him not to sign on cos he’s a parade to lead
In the ghetto
Son, don’t you understand
You don’t need a flute in your hand
1690 is a bygone day
that oul flute band music
will put your head away
Well the world turns
and her angry wee boy with a runny nose
blocks the holes in his flute from the snots of his nose
In the ghetto
And his hatred burns
so he starts to roam the streets at night
and he learns how to steal
sell drugs and talk shite
In the ghetto
Then one night during a Drumcree style standoff
the wee man runs away
busting for a swal , he steals a car,
Shouts for God and Ulster as he ram raids a bar
And his mama cries
As a crowd gathers ’round a happy young man
He puts bottles of Buckfast into all their hands
In the ghetto
As her young man dies with a hangover,
on a cold and gray East Belfast the next mornin’,
Last night another victory for Loyalist culture was born
In the ghetto
Elvis has left the building.
Cut the bull, my man, you’ve excelled yourself this time. I love it!
Best line IMO:
May you survive to write many more along the same lines :0)
CTB
I’ve followed your hillarious songwriting antics on other threads.
May I humbly impose myself on your undoubted talents to request that you indulge me by composing a witty ditty about big Jackie and the boys entotled UDAsation Once Again?
Thanks
Billy Pilgrim,
*Jesus, there’s more straw there than…of touch with your own origins are you, if you think that’s a fair approximation of the consensus in the nationalist community? Because…honest: what you really want is…familiar with the sheer vanity one often finds in those…Doesn’t matter what your opinion is…the consensus among the intellectual titans…hysterically partitionist and profoundly pro-unionist…particularly when one regards the sheer pomposity…and how they preen themselves…but we’re not there yet…Because the sine qua non of “respectableâ€, “courageous but more especially in Dublin, is still to begin with a visceral dislike…How reactionary. How boring. How cliched.*
Er, right, fair ‘uff, I’ll get me coat then shall I?
Fuck me pink Billy! Talk about issues! Ever consider prozac?
What a rant mate, well done, “intellectual titans” eh, that’s good, “sine qua non”, Christ you need to calm down a notch or two, go outside, have a breath of fresh air, a nice cup of tea should help.
Listen Billy, we don’t agree with each other, fine I can live with that, we don’t all have to agree just chill out a little baby, just because someone doesn’t share your opinions, it doesn’t mean you have to have an apoplectic, red faced, spittle flecked rant questioning their psychiatric condition and frankly giving away alot about your own mental stability.
It’s groovey Billy, no problem, I’ll back quietly out of the room, put the knife down Billy old son, honestly we can work it out…
Best line IMO:
“As her young man dies with a hangoverâ€
I disagree Dawk:
“So he starts to roam the streets at night
sell drugs and talk shite”
*A not insignificant number of the Chinese are, literally, Protestants.*
My missus explained to me how you could identify which generation of wealth the local wealthy Chinese were (in SE Asia not China itself) by finding out what religion they were. If they were Buddhists that meant they were first generational and were starting off on their aspirational journey, then the next generation would be think that Buddhism was so old fashioned and start going to Catholic churches and then the grandchildren had to show how hip and modern they were by becoming Protestants.
Not sure what the next stage on their social development would be, presumably atheism, unlikely to be Islam though.
ufb as requested I hope you enjoy.
UDAsation once again
When the last line of cocaine was in my blood
I dreamt of ancient B men,
For Ulster, those who bravely stood,
So me and uncle Andy could be freemen;
And then I swore that I would be
A Supreme Commander, glowing with fame,
And Ulster, our wee province would see.
UDAsation once again!
Chorus:
UDAsation once again!
And Ulster, our wee province would see.
UDAsation once again!
Apart from that time, I lost money to the C.Coy hoes,
That hope has shone a far light,
Nor could the biggest12th bonfire glow
Outshine my hallucinations of starlight;
It seemed to shine above my head
Nearly driving me insane,
Its drug crazed voice sang round my bed,
UDAsation once again!
(Chorus)
It whisper’d too, that I’d hear growls and barks
From dirty dogs whose characters were lowly,
They would be on the hills of south east Antrim
Their passions vain or lowly;
For, Freedom comes from the big red hand,
And needs a man with half a brain;
And loyal men must give our land
UDAsation once again!
(Chorus)
So, as I grew from boy to man,
I had to do my bidding
We had to clean our gangsters out
South east Antrim needed ridding;
For, thus I gathered two hundred to my aid,
Oh, can such hope be vain?
That our wee province will remain, with
UDAsation once again!
CTB – u should do that for a living…Wonderful.
On topic – astonishing how such a minor event can trigger such mad passion. There’s a significant political undercurrent in the changing nature of South Belfast. I system the re-inforcing of tribal rights is a somewhat primitive reaction to that continuing process.
CTB, you definitely have a brilliant talent there. very entertaining. So far, ‘Nothing compares 2 the old U’ is top of the leader board although I have to agree with UFB,
“So he starts to roam the streets at night
sell drugs and talk shiteâ€,
is a great line. Keep up the good work.
cut the bull,
Just seen your latest work of sheer genius!
Best line IMO:
The images it conjures up, and so true to the original! :0)
Ridicule will for ever be the sharpest weapon against the bigot/racist.
Glad to keep you all cheerful. I was just sitting thinking what UDA men must be feeling at the moment and Icame up with this wee song.
Hope you all enjoy sit back ahve a coffee and sing.
I’m a UDA man
I’m a UDA man, I think I’m really grand
I’ve never worked, I stole everything that I own
I demanded a lot, I was never happy with what I’d got
I took all from many families home
Now times are hard, I cant get clocked in at he shipyard
They say there’s only genuine work to go around
And when I snort and I blow, this powder up my nose
I usually fall flat down on the ground
I fall flat d-o-w-n
I never worked a day, for an honest days pay
For twenty years I served the UDA best I could
Now with a handshake and a few bum checks, I feel like shit
Loyalty through the bad times and through good
The Inner Councils sad to see that things have got so bad
But the South East Antrim Hill Billy’s are on the lose
Their leader’s driving a big car and smoking wacky baccy cigars
And still he takes his family on a cruise, he’ll never lose
Well it seems to me such a cruel irony
The Hill Billy’s are richer now than ever they were before
Now my check is spent and no body pay protection money or rent
There’s no fearful building site owners any more,
Every day I’ve tried to set some ill gotten gains aside
So if a feud starts, I can run way
Oh but everywhere I go, the answer’s always no
There’s no protection money for you here today, fuck off and go away
And so condemned I stand, a lonely sad UDA man
There was thousands of us, now there’s only a few
I watch my ex wife, with a new man and a good life
And I know the kids are sniffing glue
Now I realise, I’m a disgrace, I’m a human waste
My community, I have robbed blind
And as long as They live, I hope some day they will forgive
I’ve stripped them of their dignity and pride, I’ve stripped the community bare
I’ve stripped it bare, I’ve stripped it bare.
“With expressed views like this I can’t see an Oswald Mosley Memorial Flute Band coming soon!”
Unless Greenflag starts one.
in the ghetto “remix”
As the tricolour flies
On a cold and gray west Belfast mornin’
He gets woke by a land rover beepin its horn
In the ghetto
And his mama cries
‘cos if there’s one thing that she don’t need
is for him not to sign on cos he’s a protest to lead
In the ghetto
Son, don’t you understand
You don’t need a blastbomb in your hand
1916 is a bygone day
that oul romantic rebel shit
will put your head away
Well the world turns
and her angry wee boy with a runny nose
fuses the wires on his blastbomb from the snots of his nose
In the ghetto
And his hatred burns
so he starts to roam the falls at night
and he learns how to joyride
take drugs and look for a fight
In the ghetto
Then one night during a ardoyne shops riot
the wee man runs away
busting for a swal , he steals a car,
Shouts tiocfaidh ar la as he ram raids a bar
And his mama cries
As a crowd gathers ‘round a spidey young man
He puts tins of steiger into all their hands
In the ghetto
As her young man dies with a hangover,
on a cold and gray west belfast the next mornin’,
Last night another victory for the oirish republic was born
In the ghetto
Wayne can you not show some original indivdual thought here. Your a plagiarist of the highest degree.
Your lucky Idont take you to court over the copy right of this song.
Keep it up and you’ll be hearing from my solicitor.
COPY CAT COPY CAT NA NA NAH
individual thought, sure im a prod & stop using big words like plagiarist as i dont know what it means, is it a good thing or bad ? i will google it later as im busy with my “Mcilhattan” remix
Wayne before you start panicking and running to the Mater Hospital. Your alright your havent got some incurable plague. I was only trying to point out that you were a bit of a copy cat. All the best.
Gotta go away for the weekend Slan leat mo cara
Cut the Bull – You da man!!!!!!!
Thanks for the request CTB, everyone a work of absolute genius.
If I ever have the good fortune to meet you in the flesh all drink is on me. I wanna go to a party with you.
May your acid wit, [acid wit-did you get it from the UDA?],continue to compose these gems.
What a shower of self-=indulgent tossers you are.
Sour grapes Nige?
Superb rip-post wayne.
If I ever bump into you UFB I’ll take you up on the offer of buying the drink.
Nigel calm down and Ulster is my homeland to all nine beautiful counties of it. Calm wooosssaaaaa
It seems to me that some people are to say the not to amused with the oul song writing.
Sure it’s only a bit of a laugh,you the smilley feeling thing you do when your happy.
This sons is dedicated to those who feel unamused.
CHEER UP
Words
Smile, an everlasting smile
)
A smile for all the world to see
Don’t ever let me make you angry
Cause that would bring a tear to me
Smile in all your glory
Lets not be sad and worried
Now, my friend
You may not agree with
A single word I say…
It’s only words
And words are all I have
I hope I don’t break your heart today
I’ll write, in everlasting words
)
And dedicate them all, to you
I will try my best not to make you blue
I’m here if you should call to me
You think that I don’t even mean
a single word I say…
CHORUS, repeat
Da da da da da da da
Don’t be a cry ba
Da da da da da da da da
Don’t be a cry ba
Lets not be sad and worried
Now, my friend
You may not agree with
a single word I say…
Well that’s OK
C.T.B.?
Does that stand for ‘Crap, Talentless, Bull-shitter’?
Nigel your so hurtful.I’ve an oul pair of barbed wire boxing gloves in the cubby hole.
I could lend you them to stop you becoming involved in any self indulgent behaviour.
Meeeeooooowwwwww
These oul negative emotions are’nt good for any body.
Here’s a song to help all the crap talentless bull shitters get through life with a smile. ha ha ha
Gurny mopey people bewailing
Meet me in the crowd
People, people
Please don’t spread your misery around
Misery, misery
Take it into some far off town
Sadness, misery
Throw it away, get rid of it
Go and mingle, meet people
And have a good time
Try to be
Smiley happy people holding hands
Smiley happy people laughing
Everyone around
Hug a tree, be happy
Put it in your hands
Take it, take it
There’s no time for misery
Be happy, happy
Put it in your heart
Where it’ll always shine
Get yourself a bottle of Buckfast wine
Or hang your unwashed boxers on your neighbours line
Be happy
‘cut the bull’, are you on the oul wachy bachy again?
The Loyalists parade are all one and the same. Orange Order, Raven Flutists, GNVQ Appreticeship, the same bigoted, oppressive attitude is there. I’m a lowly Catholic and the parades are intimidating to me. These guys are yet to get over two denominations of Christianity, I’d give it a while before the race issue gets sorted
Danny D, it sounds like you would get intimidated if a mouse looked at you the wrong way.
imagine being intimidated at a few bands playing music. You big woose!
How about:
He wore no jewels, no costly diamonds
No paint no powder, no none at all
He wore a Bowler with a ribbon on her
and on his shoulder the sash his father wore.
We’re Only Winding up Young Nigel
(Sung to XTC’s Making Plans for Nigel)
We’re only winding up young Nigel
We only want what’s best for him
We know he’s bitter and he’s very grim
Chorus
And yes young Nigels very snappy
He’s very snappy
Watch his lip curl
It is a thing that we all like to do
And he’s falling for it through and through
Chorus
Nigels the kind of guy that likes to live in a humourless pompous world
(In his woorrrld}
Young Nigels snappy in his world
(In his woorrrld}
Young Nigels unhappy in his world
(In his woorrrld}
Hope I’m forgiven for man and not the ball
And I’m sure that he’s quite appalled.
Chorus
Apologies but I couldn’t resist it, no offence meant Nigel I’m only joking
UFB such a master piece.
If you feel a sudden pin like punch in the stomach or god forbid a sudden twist and almighty mighty squeeze of your crown jewels,you’ll know who has the vodoo doll out.
This man has serious issues, yes serious you know!!!
The BNP are not connected nor associated with the Pride of the Raven Flute Band. Ulster BNP just happen to have highlighted the same issues as the band.
We are not racist’s, fascist’s or nazis’s. We are a legitimate, legal, political party.
We are a legitimate, legal, political party…
…with very bad grammar.
Why in the name of all that is holy are people here getting so miffed about some fairly humorous little ditties taking the piss out of the UDA. They deserve to have the piss taken out of them. They’re a bunch of parasites who have brought nothing but harm to the working class Protestant areas they dominate – and before anyone asks, I’m from a working class Protestant family myself.
Attacking the UDA is not, in any way, attacking the Protestant community. It’s attacking a bunch of vermin who just happen to be, nominally at any rate, Protestant. Taking the piss out of them is very mild compared to what should be done to them – perhaps carting them all off to the Copeland Islands and spraying them with Anthrax would be more fitting.
Fair play to you Stiofán I totally agree about taking the piss not so sure about the anthrax though. So I’m going to add another song,
Fairy tale of a twirp
It was late in evening babe
When my heart sank
A smiling oul boy said to me, you’ll need to go on the run
And then he sang a song
‘The Inner Councils looking you’
And I turned my face away
And thought about me, never mind you
Now we’re the unlucky one’s
Out numbered eighteen to one
I’ve got a feeling
we’re going to have to move
So fill the shoe boxes
With notes my baby
If we don’t go now, it’s time
When all our nightmares will come true
They came in cars,
with iron bars
They were big, small, young and old
We’re going to hurt you
No place for you I was told
When I first swore on the red hand
I was deceived
You promised me
Millions were waiting for me
I was handsome
I was pretty
Queen from the Shankill to White City
When the flute band finished playing
I howled out for more
We were both into swinging,
usually when drunk and singing
We pissed in a corner
Then snorted coke through the night
The boys of the Inner Council choir
Were singing “up the UDAâ€
And the drums and flutes were ringing
Out, like a 12th day
They’re all bums
They’re all skunks
they’re all still selling junk
Like me, they have the estates turned into
drug dens
They called me a scum bag
a maggot
,A wee baldy fat faggot*
Quis Separabit your arse
I pray God
It won’t last
Out, like a 12th day
I could have been someone
Bigger and better than anyone
You took my dreams
From me when I first found you
I kept them with me Brigadier, Bombadier,Volunteer
I put them with my own
Can’t make it all alone
If I say sorry, can I come home
Out, like a 12th day
Another gem CTB….get them on Youtube !!!
I dont know about youtube. I would love to go to a gig and hear a band singing a few of these songs for a laugh.
All rights reserved mind you ha ha ha I might get enough to buy a bag of willicks and a carry out. hahaha
I’d do one but ain’t got accent…
If a line up like Shane, Christy, R.E.M, boyzone, and Cliff richards can do it. I think you could manage alright theres a few mixed accents there.I might try and book it from Belfast City Council as a Loyalist cultural song night in the Lord mayors chamber.
If the Council keeps giving money for 12th bonefires then they’ll hardly knock me back. ahahahaha