Slugger O'Toole

Conversation, politics and stray insights

Overheard in Belfast…

Thu 5 October 2006, 10:22pm

YER man says he was heading through Toome a wee while ago, when he spotted one of those reverential roadside commemorations to the Hunger Strike. Slightly further down the road is the Elk bar, and on the opposite side was an advertising hoarding which read: “All you can eat for £10.” Oops…

Delicious Digg Facebook LinkedIn reddit StumbleUpon Twitter Email Print Friendly

Comments (98)

1. POL says:

Still waiting!!! What did loyalists ever do to win political status.What ti Feck did loyalism ever do to achieve anything but run down protestant areas with their extortion,pimping and drug dealing.Not to mention how many have been charged and found guilty of neighbourhood rape(calderwood et al).Pretty much sums loyalism up !!! Go and burn a few immigrants out, sure its for God And Ulster lol.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    (Log in or register to mark as offensive)
    Commend 0
  2. Reader says:

Cahal: I can’t even remember voting on that issue. When was that?
    - Every election where SF appears on the ballot. Until the ceasefire, perhaps, when SF became a bit ambivalent about the merits of armed struggle, including (e.g.) burning down stores in Newry.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  3. Reader says:

POL: Still waiting!!! What did loyalists ever do to win political status.
    Watched and waited and laughed. I regard the Loyalists as being just as bad as the IRA were, and legendary in their stupidity and malevolence. Still – they got their hunger-strike tactics just right. It must have been an accident…

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  4. Sean says:

Oh no boys and girls you can get this type of crap on many a proddy website. Pish poor Gonzo and fartrick.
    Theres a difference between humour (even black) and slagging.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  5. Cahal says:

Reader, just so we are clear, are you agrreing with the statement that
    “the majority of people in NI think the hunger strikers were criminals and realise that they were no great loss to society? “

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  6. Gonzo says:

Can I ask a question: What joke? I haven’t made a ‘joke’. There’s no need to follow the post up with attempts to provide a sectarian ‘humour’ ‘balance’, since there was no ‘joke’ in the first place.

It’s blatantly obvious that it wasn’t meant to be laugh-out-loud ‘funny’. Even the most sectarian bigot should only find it worth a half-hearted titter before catching himself on.

The observation about the ironic juxtaposition of an ‘all you can eat’ advert in a strongly nationalist area with the Hunger Strike commemoration was intended to highlight how times had changed. A literal sign of the times, if you will, since there’s no way such mockery (deliberate or not) in an advert would have been allowed to have been placed there a few years ago.

It seems Toome has moved on to the extent that that a sense of reverence about the Hunger Strike isn’t foremost in the minds of hungry money-makers when placing road-side ads.

Not so on Slugger, where the only ‘funny’ ‘joke’ has been the tedious predictability of certain overly-touchy commenters to be offended by a mere (and apparently true) observation.

I certainly didn’t get this reaction to my comments about the murals of King Billy crossing the Boyne on a Shetland pony because loyalists had no sense of perspective.

My God, if people don’t think the word ‘Oops’ at the end of a post doesn’t mean ‘That was a bit of a stupid thing for an advertiser to do’, they need to get themselves a sense of perspective.

Right, I’m in Dublin, so I’ll meet yous for a fight in Temple Bar when the pubs shut. To the rest; see you at the Digital Hub in the morning!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  7. austin says:

Gonzo, you remain a w*nker of the highest order

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  8. Ghost of PDN Past says:

Careful now, Gonzo. I’ll hover in Temple Bar this evening and watch over you. A dangerous thing, irony. Whether intended or not.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  9. Gonzo says:

austin

Persuasive argument. Thanks for that valuable contribution. It makes everything worthwhile.

Ghost

The hotel, free wine and company are proving irresistible for now. Still trying to move. God I love Dublin.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  10. Ghost of PDN Past says:

Dublin, yes! That’s the spirit, so to speak.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  11. Reader says:

Cahal: Reader, just so we are clear, are you agrreing with the statement that
    “the majority of people in NI think the hunger strikers were criminals and realise that they were no great loss to society? “

As for the first part – certainly. Do you doubt that most people in NI think the hunger strikers were criminals? That’s how they got into prison – and they are celebrated as members of the IRA and INLA. Certainly all unionists and many nationalists regard the IRA and INLA armed struggle as criminal.
    As for the second part – the word ‘realise’ is loaded. I don’t personally agree with the death penalty, or celebrate anyone’s death. But, if people are going to die, I can’t think of anyone more deserving than terrorists who choose to kill themselves. They, along with those who blew themselves up, are the only dead who aren’t victims. However, people who do agree with the death penalty *and* regard the armed struggle as murderous criminality, will ‘realise’ the second part of the claim. That may well be a majority too.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  12. páid says:

Gonzo,

I hope you enjoy yourself in Dublin.

One day someone will do a great PhD on troubles jokes to wide acclaim.

How humour bridged the gap between daily, tensioned, ordinary life and extraordinary political times, may form a theme.

I look forward to it; it’s a bit early for it now though, IMO.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  13. car park says:

Is it true that Airie Neave will feature in the new series of Top Gear.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  14. Belfast Gonzo (profile) says:

Y’see that’s the problem car park. Your ‘joke’ is a pretty feeble attempt at humour, whereas I merely recounted someone’s observation. Others put the spin on it…

What do you think?
    (Log in or register to judge or mark as offensive)
    Commend 0
  15. POL says:

Still – they got their hunger-strike tactics just right. It must have been an accident…

The mars bar and toast variety lol.Not surprised though you cant make a silk purse out of a sows arse.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  16. austin says:

‘Y’see that’s the problem car park. Your ‘joke’ is a pretty feeble attempt at humour, whereas I merely recounted someone’s observation. Others put the spin on it’

Oh dear Gonzo,

Looks like you can dish it out but can’t take it back.

The only enlightening aspect of your appalling thread is the confirmation of your true sectarian colours.

Thanks for that.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  17. circles says:

Hmmm – can’t see the reason for all the excitement here.
    I mean the original “observation” wasn’t even observant. Its like pointing out that Bobby Sands is buried basically next door to a supermarket where the actually sell – wait for it – FOOD – oh wow, the ultimate irony.
    Republicans continue to eat even when commemorating the hunger strikers!!!
    What next – republicans in christmas dinner scandal? Gerry Adams seen with half-eaten sandwich?

So what!!

If its a couple of titters yer after Gonzo, you have to try harder than this.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  18. Cahal says:

Reader
    “Do you doubt that most people in NI think the hunger strikers were criminals?”

How would I (or you for that matter) possibly know this without a referendum involving every single person in the north. Anything else is merely speculation. I doubt if most people have an opinion.

“That’s how they got into prison”

Not because a majority of people in NI decided they were criminals. Weren’t they imprisoned by Diplock courts?

“Certainly all unionists and many nationalists regard the IRA and INLA armed struggle as criminal.”

Again, as only about 60% of the electorate vote, and the electorate is about 60% of the population, the group of people you talk of are way less than 50% of NI.

My point is that people should not make broad sweeping statements about what everbody in NI thinks without offerning even the flimsiest of evidence. Perhaps most peolple in NI do think the hungerstrikers were criminals. Show me the evidence or don’t state it as fact.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  19. Reader says:

Cahal: How would I (or you for that matter) possibly know this without a referendum involving every single person in the north.
    Well, you could try talking to people.
    Cahal: Again, as only about 60% of the electorate vote, and the electorate is about 60% of the population, the group of people you talk of are way less than 50% of NI.
    But a damned good statistical sample. By the way, checking on the ark site, it looks like 47% of the *population* voted in the forum election, for instance – rather more than your 36% estimate. And do you think that the non-voters are almost all supporters of the armed struggle? Then why did SF’s vote start to climb when the IRA called a ceasefire?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  20. rory says:

gonzo..
    its funny..dont mind those winging fucks…little thing in life like that are funny

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  21. circles says:

aye curleys is beside milltown and guess what….
    The dead don’t even shop!!!

LAFF – I nearly did….

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  22. moochin photoman says:

Cant see what all the fuss is about. If I’m passing by this i will definately try to get an image for sure.
    Its just one of lifes’ little ironies that are thrown up in our paths.
    That it has got to 70 odd comments is surprising(well perhaps not).
    Anyways, nothing to see here, move on…..

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  23. Has anyone mentioned the “chip supper” song yet ?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  24. URQUHART says:

I’ve sorry I missed this thread when all the shouting was being done. OK, it wasn’t award winning humour but it was pretty amusing.

Provos may try to bully those who laugh at their sacred cows, but sorry guys – you lose that right when you throw your memorials up around the country without any thought for the feelings of the families your chums murdered.

Mick, you said: “I have to say that I don’t find these ‘jokes’ (or any of the follow ups) in the least amusing”.

I have to say I don’t believe you.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  25. circles says:

I was driving past a fold (for the old) last week, and almost directly opposite I noticed the leisure centre.
    Oh how I laughed!!!!
    Imagine – crumbly oldies AND a leisure centre!!!
    How my sides ached and the tears streamed down my face. Oh the sweet ironies of life…..

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  26. POL says:

Seen this wee joke painted on the Springfield Rd a few years ago.

Frenchie thought he was safe but someone put a few holes in him.LOL

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  27. sorted says:

Some people are getting so worked up about this whole thread that next thing you know they’ll have started smearing sh*te on the walls!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  28. Davy McFaul says:

For me the most indicative point made in these points is the Unionist / Loyalist preoccupation with junk food, i.e. the chicken/ sausage / pastie* supper and Bobby Sands.

If that’s their opinion of a well balanced nutritious meal then is it any wonder that if they continuously insist on shovelling this shíte into their gullets by the bucketload and diet being directly connected to childrens behaviour then areas such as the lwr Shankill, Ballybeen, Kilcomaine, Rathcoole etc are dilapidated drugs ravaged fiefdoms of illegal shebeens where casual sex and violence are the norm

* Delete as appropriate

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  29. nmc says:

The formula used by loyalist (wannabe) comedians:

Hunger Striker + Reference to food = funny

In the same way that for a ten year old, or mentally subnormal adult you could say:

reference to fart or shit = funny

Thing is either way it’s pretty basic humour. Where you find people, you find food. Food is one of those things that’s pretty much everywhere. So to find a memorial in the vicinity of a billboard offering meals, crisps or sweets isn’t unusual or particularly funny, unless you have a low IQ.

So for those of you seeking amusement try and get a copy of the Andytown news from about a month ago. You’ll find Hunger Strike articles, and if you look hard enough you’ll find plenty of reference to food. Why there’s probably about ten or fifteen jokes. If you’re sides can take it, why not head to milltown and have a look at Curley’s supermarket, that should keep you chuckling for a while longer.

One question for Gonzo, how far is slightly further down the road? I ask because I would like to know how far (in miles) a memorial has to be from a restaurant or billboard to prevent a rash of simpletons crashing as they double over with laughter while trying to drive a car.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  30. POL says:

Gonzo doesn`t actually know nmc,because he said “he heard”.

Remember the Duper who died from Mad cows disease a few years back, no sooner was he dead and another duper was giving his wife the beef.

Now theres an opportunity for a few jokes Gonzo.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  31. POL says:

oops!!!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  32. Professor JM Keynes says:

As it is fully apparent from this threat that Shinners have no shortage of sick jokes about ‘the other side’, why are they so freaked out by a sick joke from ‘the other side’?

Pure inadequacy is my guess. Sad.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  33. Professor JM Keynes says:

‘threat’ = ‘thread’.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  34. eranu says:

look at the state of all the IRA supporters pretending to be outraged at hunger striker jokes! ignore their howls gonzo. i bet everyone laughs, but if you’re an IRA supporter you have to do it when no one is looking :)

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  35. fer fecks sake says:

Eranu,

I am not an IRA supporter nor a Sinn Fein voter yet I agree with Circles, it just isn’t funny, in any sense.

So you just lost your “bet”..

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  36. nmc says:

look at the state of all the IRA supporters pretending to be outraged at hunger striker jokes

I would also like to add that I am not outraged by this, and from what I have read I don’t really see much outrage from other Nationalists. If it were original it would be more offensive. As I’ve said, it’s a fart joke. Not invoking outrage, more of a disappointed sigh of fulfilled expectation.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  37. Belfast Gonzo (profile) says:

What joke? I never made a joke, as explained before.

What do you think?
    Commend 0
  38. eranu says:

seemed to me that quite a few people were getting on like mother teresa had just been insulted in the most horrendous way.

as far as funny goes, i suppose its personal taste. but if i was driving along and saw a hunger strike board and then a board offering ‘all you can eat’ id find it atleast amusing.

the hunger strike / 1916 board near the border past newry is amusing on its own. it features a square jawed american looking soldier in WW1 uniform with fixed bayonet. the words on the board are ‘they fought for truth, they fought for freedom’ or words to that effect. totally ridiculous !

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  39. circles says:

Now posts 2, 3 and 5 on this page had me laughing – and 5 could have been a Shinner for all I care.

Gonzo – is that a plea not to shoot the messenger? ;-)

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  40. Conor says:

Crap thread that was merely an attempt to bait the less intelligent Republicans out there into a half-baked overtly sectarian response. But fair play, you did get some takers. No-one is saying black humour (even if they are observations and not jokes, not the best of defences Gonzo) is off-limits but it should at least make an attempt to be funny. Newton Emerson gets it right (on occasion) but you have quite a way to go, BG…

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  41. Belfast Gonzo (profile) says:

Believe me, I’m delighted with the way this thread has gone.

The only thing that really surprises me is that people are still commenting on it.

What do you think?
    Commend 0
  42. Conor says:

“Believe me, I’m delighted with the way this thread has gone.

The only thing that really surprises me is that people are still commenting on it.”

That’s the kind of satisfaction only a troll gets, pal.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  43. DCB says:

I resent the notion that laughing or mocking the hungar strikers is somehow sectarian.

As mentioned, whats more sick, a death cult or a junvinal joke.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  44. Belfast Gonzo (profile) says:

Conor

I suppose sarcasm is a bit hard to spot in text.

What do you think?
    Commend 0
  45. truth teller says:

Look, the really funny thing is that the vermin died in agony on hunger strike. Will keep me laughing for ever. Thanks, boys!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  46. URQUHART says:

Don’t be bullied by the bastards Gonzo.

As I said before, provisionals don’t get to be offended by jibes at the Hungerstrikers when they throw monuments up every two miles without a word to anyone.

Conor: “That’s the kind of satisfaction only a troll gets, pal.”

Catch a grip of yourself, pal.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  47. Conor says:

Troll: As a verb, to post controversial or provocative messages in a deliberate attempt to provoke flames.

If this post was not a conscience attempt to do exactly what is written above, on a message board frequented by a fair share over-sensitive Republicans and triumphialistic Unionists, I would challenge anyone to give me an actual reason for it. Oh yeah, almost forgot… second-hand observational humour…

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  48. fair_deal says:

FYI

Yer man was wrong. I was on that particular road twice yesterday. There is no such sign. The sign reads “Good food served all day” both at the lk and the smaller bar just past it.

Also the food signs are older than the hunger strike signs. So any juxtaposition was created by the people who put up the Hunger strike signs not the businesses there.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Copyright © 2003 - 2012 Slugger O'Toole Ltd. All rights reserved.