Slugger O'Toole

Conversation, politics and stray insights

Spies and/or damned lies?

Tue 3 January 2006, 4:51pm

The rumours flying around before Christmas have resumed. Mainly at the agency of former spy handler Martin Ingram (not his real name). His Cryptome article produces no direct evidence, but makes some big claims. Sinn Fein’s leader in the Dail, Caoimhghin O Caolain has promised to take Ireland on Sunday to court over its allegations that he was Garda spy.The Sunday Times kicked off speculation about two prominent Sinn Fein figures. Danny Morrison reports that the view inside Sinn Fein is stoical in the face of what he believes is British intelligence “dirty tricks” and “trial by media”. However Suzanne Breen picks up some dissent beyond Belfast.

Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on Delicious Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on Digg Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on Facebook Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on Google+ Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on LinkedIn Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on Pinterest Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on reddit Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on StumbleUpon Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on Twitter Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on Add to Bookmarks Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on Email Share 'Spies and/or damned lies?' on Print Friendly

Comments (101)

1. Lurker says:

PS for William Mc: if, in 1972, the British had arrested and charged a catholic priest, the Loyalists would have started attacking priests as legitimate targets, seeing their prejudice confirmed, that Rome ran the IRA.
    If the British had interned Fr Chesney, the Catholic community would have gone ape, seeing their prejudice confirmed that the British were funadmentally anti Catholic. So Whitelaw and Cardinal Conway agreed to let it pass and shift Chesney.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    (Log in or register to mark as offensive)
    Commend 0
  2. With Martin Ingram’s constant appearances, and claims, one does not know how to keep up with it all, much less answer key questions. The guy seems to be going around the clock for some unexplained reason. Either he is the highest paid disinformation agent in HMG or he has much more to answer for than anyone has yet suggested.

For starters, I would like to correct his claim that he was the one to disclosed the facts behind the murder of Francisco Notarantonio on October 9, 1987. Actually, it was me, and you can consult my article on cryptome.org back in October 2003.

Notarantonio was murdered instead of ‘Steak Knife’ by the FRU when Captain Simon Hayward aka Captain James Rennie, Ops Officer of the 14 Intelligence Company’s South Detachment, wanted the UDA’s John McMichael to kill ‘SF’ for having set him up on a drug-smuggling charge in Sweden on March 13, 1987. Sergeant Margaret Walshaw, Brian Nelson, McMichael, and others UDA assassins killed Notarantonio to keep ‘SF’ going, and arrange the capture of the Eksund, filled with Libyan weapons for a PIRA ‘tet’ offensive.

One can only wonder why Ingram is desirous to claim exposing this when the facts are there for all to see. He apparently is most anxious to erase the trouble Hayward caused at ‘Stake Knife’s(Freddie Scappaticci’s) expense.

It seems the real problem is to get to the bottom of what Hayward and ‘Steak Knife’ really did despite all the disinformation currently flying around.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  3. martin ingram says:

Hi Trow,

Good try, you should get back to your mates in sweeden.

Lurcher,

Like I said in one of the first posts I made on here on this topic. I dont have a smoking gun. It is my belief ,that belief is drawn from my experiances in this world. I have nailed my colours to the flag pole.

Martin

You must make your mind up and I certainly wont feel offended if you disagree, in return I promise I wont say I told ya so in a few years time.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  4. Lurcheur says:

Martin, are you seriously saying that you have gone to all this trouble to tell us that you have a gut feeling that McGuinness is an agent.

And why not share with us the story about Sweden?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  5. Kathy_C says:

Hi all,

Martin Ingram …or MI6 as I like to think (MI for your initials and 6 for the number of letters in each name) Anyway….it seems you have a 2 point agenda on this thread

1) sell more books (you are constantly plugging your book)
    and
    2) point the finger at Martin McGuiness as a spy

now…I’mm not a fan of Martin McGuiness as of late because as the head negotiated for SF…I haven’t like what he has negotiated especially last year….HOWEVER….I find it very very very curious indeed that a british agent…such as yourself…is fingering him and doing it over and over…with the little disclaimer you’ve given yourself on this—-saying you can’t prove it but it’s a FEELING….

Others…a friend sent me the article from Danny Morrison about how SF is acting ever so Stoic in all of this….GIVE ME A BREAK…are we to believe Danny Morrison?????? Let’s get real—the definition of Stoic is “not effected by or showing passion or feeling” Whether Danny Morrison believes it or not…Sinn Fein is effected by all of this…and how they are responding to this scandal…is NOT in a stoic manner….

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  6. Pat Mc Larnon says:

‘and how they are responding to this scandal…is NOT in a stoic manner….’

As far as I can see they are responding to it as a military intelligence operation. I have not seen or read anything privately or publicly to lead me to believe they are not dealing with it in any other way. The British and their operatives are now leaking too many names for it to remain credible.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  7. Lurcher, you are wasting your time trying to get Martin Ingram to explain anything, starting with what went on in Sweden with Captain Hayward from March 13, 1987 until he was released from prison there in September 1989. I have been trying for over two years now,first on cryptome.org and then the Republican Bulletin Board but have gotten nowhere.

It seems that Hayward was the wildest cowboy in N.I., starting with the emergency in South Armagh during the fall of 1982 after the Provos set off the nail bombs in Hyde Park the previous July. Hayward was in the Life Guards, and was most anxious to get back at the killers of his comrades.

The only trouble with Hayward’s retribution attacks was that they were more unfocused than the Provos’ attacks – resulting in the Shoot-to-Kill murders which Stalker was not allowed to investigate fully for fear that he would get to Hayward’s murders.

By this time, Hayward had become the Ops Officer of the 14 Intelligence Company’s South Detachment, and had become involved in the killing of Francis Bradley and the outing of Frank Hegarty – what would apparently give him an alibi for any serious crime while keeping the Unionists in line – while carrying out, it seems,
    the assassination of Sweden’s statsminister Olof Palme – what was to trigger a non-nuclear conclusion to the Cold War with the Soviets, and Hayward a cushy military intelligence job in Whitehall.

The whole problem with the Stockholm killing is that the Anglo-American conspirators could not arrange a fallguy for the killing, and, consequently it remained unsolved while the showdown with the Soviets petered out because they knew about it from way back.

Apparently, the Soviets informed the Provos of what a hot item Hayward was, so, consequently, when he went to Gib in March 1987, ‘Steak Knife’, who was helping MI5 and the FRU arrange the Eksund’s capture, arranged his set-up in Sweden with the help of Sergeant Margaret Walshaw and apparently Brian Nelson.

The Brits were willing to see Hayward imprisoned because it was the easiest way out of the mess, and when Hayward contested the conviction of drug-trafficking in October 1987, thinking that he if got rid of the primary witness against him, ‘SK’, only to have it backfire at Notarantonio’s expense.

If you want to read more about it, see Hayward’s autobiography, Under Fire: My Own Story, or my articles on cryptome.org in October 2003.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  8. Intelligence Insider says:

A certain Mr T H Ford has been known to claim that Padraig Wilson is actually Steak Knife, that Martin Ingram is actually Captain Hayward/Rennie and other such ludicrous claims. Maybe he will join me and a few “cousins” for a nice Thai meal next time he stops into Portugal for a visit.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  9. martin ingram says:

Lurcher,

Trow lives in Sweeden and is well known for his lets say whacky sense of humour. Last year he accused me of being involved in the assassination of the Sweedish prime minister.

I have laid down my beliefs, I have over 12 years experiance at this game and I can smell a rat at a mile.

Kathy C.

In respect to the Book. The book is a best seller and at approx 35 pence a book to the author, you wont get rich quick. If you believe the Irish Govt would give a serving Brit Intelligence officer apassport then so be it. If you think Danny Morrison would ask me to help him if I was? then OK I am MI 6. I would suggest you have an over eager imagination Luv. If I may suggest less milk late at night.

Pat. Oh Pat . I like You.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  10. Thanks, Intelligence Insider, for the invite, but I barely survived those previous nice meals in the Thai restaurant in Caldas da Rainha since they were apparently laced with ricin. I almost died several times, and only recovered fully two years after I left the country.

If you have forgotten about my ordeal, I suggest you read my confessions as an American exile in the Trowbridge Archive at codshit.com who the US government plotted to kill.

Perhaps, you can tell us, though, who ‘Martin Ingram’ and ‘Steak Knife’ really are.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  11. Intelligence Insider says:

Well, T H Ford, its nice to see you asking who these people are, as I would take that as an admission that you don’t know.
    Next time you eat in Supatra I might just let you know, although I much prefer Restaurant ‘a Lareira myself.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  12. TAFKABO says:

Ferfuxsake, so many bitchy spies, it’s like being an observer at Elton Johns hen night.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  13. Jeremy says:

Trowbridge – you wont be the first lad to feel he died several times after a dodgy take out.

Tafkabo – be warned Intelligence Insider is the person who monitors all the requests for info at Jane’s – serious insights.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  14. Richard Dowling says:

Martin,

did the Brits know just about everything that was happening on
    the ground (and in the background) as regards Sinn Fein ….
    including who murdered Eamon Collins? Who was on the army
    council? Who was birdwatching in Colombia? Who was spying
    on Government Ministers in Dublin? And who planted the
    Monaghan and Dublin bombs? And, well, you get the picture?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  15. Pete/ Yoda says:

Hi Martin. We’ve talked at the RBB a few times. (Hi Trow. And Guestie.)

I’m all for your stated aims: to root out collusion wherever it may reside and help the vicitms get to the bottom of what happened in NI.

But can you honestly tell us that these hints and inuendoes are actually accomplishing that? Why don’t you just put what you do know out there for us all to judge? If enough sensitive information comes out, you may help those you say you want to help get what they need.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  16. finn says:

i find this very confusing, slugger seems to swing between whingeing about concessions to SF and SF achieving nothing as its riddled with informers and agents, now slugger is renown for slating SF but hey guys can ye not be consistant in your anti-republican propaganda

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  17. finn says:

and not only but also (as dear old cookey would say)I’d clicked over to daily ireland and thought, bugger me, cheers MI6, not only have you brought the IRA out off a stalemate war, got SF to 25% in NI and 10% in RoI, and more to come in RoI, but also launched a republican newspaper, rock on MI6 I bet the UUP, FG,Labour,PD, DUP, SDLP etc are praying for inflitration by MI6 as I type. MI i salute your indefatigability etc etc

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  18. Liam says:

Lurker, Let s assume you are correct , that the government feared a Catholic backlash for the internment of a priest,what about the other 18 murderers from Claudy,Dungiven and South Derry? This would have been of great propaganda value to the government.A Catholic town bombed by the IRA,majority of victims Catholic but they passed on it .Why?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  19. Richard Dowling says:

How would one go about contacting MI6, then? The Daily
    Ireland subscribers list? Sinn Fein head office? The FARC
    supporters of Irish infiltration and revolution?

I only ask because I don’t know any members of MI5 or MI6,
    but I once knew a man who lived somewhere near Junction
    16 of the M1. Does that qualify him for special cosideration?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  20. Crataegus says:

Lurcher

You would need to be very sure of the “devils you know,” to go to this amount of bother, wouldn’t you. Either McGuinness is the luckiest man in the West or ?? Well I suppose many of us will believe what we want to.

The problem with all this cloak and dagger stuff is it damages by innuendo and suggestion. With a slight of hand it destabilises and corrodes trust and thus good will. Nothing damages the political process more than this constant dip feeding of fragments of information and accusations that are not followed through. Nothing destroys any political organisation more than doubt, internal division and lack of trust.

This reeks and right now one has to ask are we post conflict and is the obvious continuing meddling appropriate or is it an attempt to thwart the democratic process? What is the British Gov Game plan, what exactly are their long term objectives?

The public interest would be better served with the truth. This mess is not to the advantage of anyone who lives here, but then that is not the prime consideration is it?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  21. heck says:

This is the most interesting thing I’ve read for a long time –although I think 75% of it is pure b*** s***.

Come on spooks, who is on the payroll of British intelligence apart from republicans? Which Irish politicians, journalists and members of other political parties are being used?

MI replied earlier as to who received leaks but who have had stories written by the spooks and then published them under their own byline. (If my suspicions are correct name that reporter for an English Sunday paper.) The American army is doing this in Iraq and it is reasonable to assume the British in Northern Ireland do this.

What British/Irish think tanks are funded by the spies to develop policies in this area? (I can think of one suspect.)

Unless you start outing other agents then I will continue to assume that this is some organized effort to discredit SF.

And why all the attacks on SF because they had (and probably still have) spies in their organization? There was not the same attacks on the CND leadership because they had spies in their midst. I believe it was revealed that the trade union movement in Britain was also infiltrated by MI5 in the 70’s. And who knows if British political parties were not infiltrated by SF to direct their policies on Ireland?

MI– is’nt the spook phrase to describe what is going on “wilderness of mirrors”. I think that is what you are trying to create here.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  22. Intelligence Insider, you are quite wrong to think that my asking you who ‘Martin Ingram’ and ‘Steak Knife’ really are indicates that I don’t pretty well know. I asked you to determine whether you are really interested in knowing or just trying to spread confusion, and your response clearly answers the query.

‘Steak Knife’ is the person that Simon Hayward described on p. 59 of his autobiography: the small, 5’7′, slim, wiry guy with the gingerish hair, and in his late 30s or early forties. This is no description of Freddie Scappaticci but it does fit that of Padraig Wilson.

As for who ‘Martin Ingram’ really is, I am less sure, though he is clearly covering up for Hayward and ‘Steak Knife’- aiding and abetting the cover up of all they were involved in, including the assassination of Olof Palme.

As for who you are, I suspect that you are just ‘MI’ in another guise, especially from what Jeremy said about your involvement with Jane Winter. She gave me the biggest runaround when I asked about ‘MI’s identity, first denying that he was “Simon Haywood”, and after I pursued her further, she said she was not in the business of answering questions about those on the run, and that ‘MI’ was not Hayward. She should have said he was not previously Hayward, as a person cannot have two official identities at the same time, as she well knows since she sponsored him becoming a citizen of the Republic.
    As for your invitation to join you at Supatra, I shall have to pass as I found it much more lethal than just any takeaway.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  23. elfinto says:

I’ve heard it all now. Steak Knife helped assassinate the Swedish PM in an attempt to start WW3! Trowbridge H. Ford – did you also try some potent magic mushrooms at that Thai restuarant in Portugal? Who poisoned you and why?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  24. Crasher says:

I hope the British Government doesn’t pay any of these monkeys more than they would get on the dole – otherwise its a waste of public money. That all the “spies”.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  25. martin ingram says:

Hi . Richard.
    In General Terms. Yes.
    In Respect to Eamon Collins. The straight answer is Yes. The majority live in the Dundalk area and yes his relative was involved . The relative being Mickey ” Bald Eagle” Collins . Mooch Blair was also involved.

As for the PAC, 100%.There are many tapes of those meetings, those tapes if ever released leaked will be very interesting. I suppose in a similar way to the Mo Mowlam/ Martin McGuinness tapes.

As regards Govt ministers and Gardai. Many within these circles are more than willing to share information beyond the normal Liaison role WHY? they see the PIRA/SINN FEIN as the common enemy.The level of penetration was high including Gardai commissioners.

Dublin / Monaghan Bombs. I dont know in that respect but if you wcould gain access to the second floor of main building Theipval barracks beyond the steel cage , turn right and into the G2 archive,procedd 25 Yards and they may be able to help you on that one.They are nice eople and very helpful. My pass has been redeemed. I did however inform Judge Barron of the above when he requested my presence in his chambers.

Columbia. I have no idea.In respect to Frank Connolly and all the other IRA players involved in this visit to watch birds . They have a long history of subversive activity. Its just another coincidence ( Smirk), its bit much. Why should it be suspicious that a gang of IRA men travel half way around the world to watch Birds in an area where Bombs and killing are common, Oh and Drugs are a way of life.Oh I nearly forgot and travel upon false stolen passports. Those passsports were stolen from the London Embassy and Oh yes one more from that stolen batch was recovered from Slabs house during a Gardai search, slabs photo was upon it. But Eh whats the problem with that. We all should have two or three Eh its good for Duty Free.

On a serious note.The Gardai have their fingers on the Ra, equally if not better than the Brits. Thats why the development of quality assets South of the border is crucial.

Pete,

I have tried to avoid hints and Ineundoes. I have stated that I have no smoking gum unlike the Freddy case.

I have laid down my reasons. It is clear. I rely upon my many years experiance at both Intelligence and Counter Intelligence. It is for you to make up your mind, what I will say is I am not the first to accuse Martin McGuinness nor will I be the last. IRA volunteers in the past have made similar accusations but when you have the Security department in your employment, those complaints dont tend to be treated with any respect. Indeed , you would more than likely encounter an “out of this world” experiance at the hands of a Brit Agent , ask Paddy Flood?

As regards collusion. Surely we should all join together and ask the Brits to re open this file on the murder of Franko Hegarty, like I have done.That request was taken up by WHO? Sir John “long fingered” Stevens. WHY? because he deals with ONLY collusion cases.

Ok. Then let me speak to the original investigating officer ( CID) of this murder, WHY? so I may satisfy myself that he was told about the involvement of more than one Agent in this murder. The PSNI told me to FUCK OFF. I have the tape of that conversation.

Now, lets be honest here. No matter what side of the fence you sit on. We all argue for a fair and impartial police force. To me, I dont give a fuck if this man is the Queen of sheba, he has a case to answer before the courts. I know the Hegarty familiy want that, they wanted that 18 years ago and they want that today.

It is not good enough for the Govt to stop an inquiry into a murder because this man was going to speak to the Govt in his capacity of a PIRA officer. The Govt dont have the right to issue a ” Licence to Kill” . James BOND or Martin McGUINNESS should be treated equally, indeed those that are in negotiatins with Govt in areas where they have a VESTED INTEREST ie legislation which would admonish them of any crime should not be allowed to participate in those deliberations.

Neither Martin McGuinness nor Gerry Adams or Indeed Gerry Kelly should be allowed to negotiate an agreement which would set them free from any of their past crimes OR in the alternative,they make it clear that if the cold case review team uncover any evidence in respect of their crimes they will not seek to invoke this proposed legislation. Let us be clear this proposed legislation will cover not only OTRs but also any other person who may well be subject to a charge once the Cold case review team have completed their work.

That is not Fair. Now we all want to be fair dont we?

Crataegus. You are 100% correct in respect to the truth , that is what the public need and it is in their interest. That is why people like Martin McGuinness/ Gerry Adams/ Tony Blair as the employer of the FRU RUC SB will not allow that to hapen. That is my point.

Martin

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  26. martin ingram says:

sorry negotiation.rushing too much

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  27. Now that you have mastered hearing, elfinto, you might try learning to read.

In my post at 9.32 PM yesterday, I said quite clearly that Captain Simon Hayward, it seems, assassinated statsminister Olof Palme – what was intended to trigger a non-nuclear conculsion to the Cold War, but failed because of KGB counterintelligence.

‘Steak Knife’ was still so angered by it, and other assassinations that Hayward had carried out, especially the Shoot-to-Kill ones, and the murder of Francis Bradley that he got the FRU to help out in seeing that he was imprisoned in Sweden for a crime he didn’t do – drug trafficking.

It wasn’t mushrooms which almost killed me but food in the restaurant which had just enough ricin in it to kill me the next day or make me have an accident which would seem a natural death.

I was poisoned by the CIA, apparently led by Oswald LeWinter, and including the resident agent in the Lisbon Embassy Michael Thomas, the Ambassador Elizabeth Frawley Bagley, agents of the Portuguese intelligence service et al., and, of course, the owner of the restaurant.

I was targeted, like Paul Wilcher in Washington, for going after the people who helped kill JFK – former DCI Richard Helms, “Deep Throat” Al Haig (despite the recent lies by Woodward and Bernstein), former President Richard Nixon – and telling their protector, President Clinton, about my plans to expose them.

For more on all this, you should consult my personal articles, and those about Clinton and Woolsey saving the CIA in the Trowbridge Archive at codshit.com.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  28. Richard Dowling says:

Many thanks, Martin.

Eamon Collins (who was killed AFTER the Belfast Agreement)
    had tried to find redemption by exposing something rotten and
    sectarian at the heart of the Provisional Movement.

What was very odd was that a large section of the media
    actually went along with the charade that the Provisionals
    (who had NOT even bothered to sign this Good Friday
    document) were entitled to do some INTERNAL
    HOUSEKEEPING in the name of the PEACE PROCESS —
    namely, murder anyone who got in their way.

As for Colombia, those chancers were exposed almost
    immediately after Sinn Fein had tried to humiliate both Dr
    John Reid and Prime Minster Tony Blair in public……
    Coincidence? Who knows.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  29. elfinto says:

Trowbridge, you are one crazy guy!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  30. kate. says:

elfinto, crazy is not the word for it! LOL

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  31. As I understand it, it takes a crazy world to make people crazy, or seem to be so. Infants when they are born into this world seem most accepting of it, only, for most of them, to determine what a vicious place it is.

If you have any substantive complaints about my claims, please post them. If not, buzz off!

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  32. martin ingram says:

Trow,

Substantive claims ! best one this year

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  33. Kathy_C says:

Hi all,

Pat McLarnon, back a bit you asked me “And how they (SF) are responding to this scandal…is NOT stoic in manner? I agree it is a SCANDAL of major proportions…you may see SF’s actions as stoic…I however see them as pathetic. Let me ask you this…with the McCarthy problem last year at this time…SF acted and kicked out or suspended some people quickly out of their organization ….who has been kicked out or suspeneded for this…..? Sinn Fein has basically said nothing…done nothing….their actions are far from stoic…and blaming the brits dirty tricks campaign is a bit rich….Sinn Fein had a spy amongst their ranks and they aren’t dealing well with it at all…they look weak

I personally feel there should be some high up resignations over this SCANDAL>>….It’s time they pay the piper as the saying goes.

Martin Ingram…MI….didn’t understand your comment at all about Danny Morrison? Made me smile about your suggesttion I drink less milk going to bed at night…you are good about trying to deflect discussion away from what you don’t want to talk about….but what I do prior to bed time….isn’t the issue….and doesn’t get away from the fact….spies take there code names that mean something…and your name, like I said….initials are MI and 6 letters in each…and that is why I think of you, amoung other reasons, as MI6. Now, I’ll repeat what I stated earlier…you are promoting your book and fingering Martin McGuinness based on FEELINGS>…nothing more than FEELINGS (sorta like that song of old)

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  34. martin ingram says:

Kathy.

As regards Danny. I am unsure what you are asking. Are you confusing this with Micky Collins whom Richard requested information?

In respect to me? The BIRW ( British Irish Rights Watch) know me well and are well aware of my real identity for over five years. I have worked witht them on many issues, so I think your paranoia is either misplaced or designed to confuse.

I notice you are avoiding the issue in relation to Mr McGuinness and his role as a PIRA commander. I believe his involvemnt in the Mr Hegarty murder should be tested in the courts, even IF HE IS INDEED an AGENT OR NOT. I note that you questioned Sinn Feins response in the wake of the present debacle? that Debacle luv has been going on since the Adams / McGuinness leadership took over from those that were willing and able to mount a serious campaign. Adams / McGuinness dont hold inquiries, they just move on and the sheep follow. Unless, of course your name is Paddy Flood.

I am sure you will hear more of this subject in the coming months, trust you are well. Good Night.

Martin.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  35. FUISEOIGE says:

Dia duit Martin,

It has been interesting reading your feelings the maguiness case. In trying to understand better your motives for outing this man in addition to the noble idea that ALL killers ought to face justice. What is it for you? Revenge? Financial? Ideological? Justice?

As a republican I have serious doubts about your intent but am very drawn to what you have to say. As a member of FRU you were and are my enemy. It galls me to read your pious justification of your nefarious activities.

However mainly because vie never been able to work out how such men and women in ‘Sinn Féin’ and Óglaigh Na H-éireann could so completely turn from their core beliefs and values.

Your posit is, particularly in light of recent Donaldson disclosures, one explanation which might explain how modern Irish Republicanism has found itself underwriting British rule in Ireland.

No doubt you are aware your agenda in outing this man is clearly contrary to the counter insurgency policies of the British government. Indeed it lends itself more to the arguments put forward by traditional ‘so called’ dissidents republicans.

It seems to me you have essentially went rouge, and while you formerly manipulated agents and others to act perhaps according to your core values and the British policies in Ireland. I wonder are you publicly trading information on suspected republican agents to manipulate or hit back at some shadowy figures or agencies in your own life today?

It’s difficult to take seriously the man who specializes in the trade of human misery, manipulation, blackmail, and political subterfuge and who is now apparently turning his back on his political masters and indeed some of the very agents he or others helped recruit, establish and run in the field.

I despise everything you stand for, all that you are and feel regardless that I presently lean towards your revelations – A traitor is a traitor is a traitor and believe effectively you are the Donaldson or Scap of the FRU or in a broader sense the British Secret Services. In attempting to out Maguiness you have outed yourself … how ironic, how poetic, how sweet it feels to see you and the Maguiness’ of this world indeed all agents and touts and their handlers come to such a juncture.

Is mise
    Gúth na Fuiseoige

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  36. Crasher says:

Fuiseoige

perhaps it says something about the integrity of the “republican” movement that it was so susceptible to traitors. It was inhabited by thugs and bullyboys, who in other circumstances would have been seen for the common criminals that they were. (They probably would have been police touts then too).

One thing that can be said for Ingram is that he has moved from his former positon to a different one. Regressive fascists like you seem to want to live in a mythical “free” Ireland – is that the one where everybody goes to Mass on Sunday, speak Gaelige, and has comely maidens dancing at every cross roads. The reality is the world has moved on. Only in the backwoods that is NI do people still cling to bitter sectarianism and vote accordingly. Shame on them.

Any social advances in NI has been brought about by the EU and a globalist world view. It has been retarded by so-called “freedom” fighters.I certainly would not want to go back to the world view espoused by the “freedom” fighters.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  37. Mickhall says:

crasher,

I understand the sentiments you express but you have based them on an analysis of today’s world, it really was a different place, especially in the north back in the 1960, 70s and early 80s. One only has to look at the intransigence of sections of the DUP leadership today, to understand that without that generation of Republicans who said in 1969-early 70s, No, we are not putting up with this sectarian, undemocratic crap anymore, little in the north would have changed. The tragedy was the long war philosophy coming from the Adams leadership and the Ulsterisation policy which consecutive British governments implemented in opposition to it. As jointly they doomed the six counties to years of death, destruction, state oppression and heart-ache, when there were opportunities, admittedly few and far between, to solve the problem by peaceful democratic means.

Whilst war is the continuation of politics by other means, however with the spies and spiv’s that the British State are clearly still running within Ireland, it is becoming increasingly clear they are only paying lip service to democratic accountability. How can there ever be a level playing field if one party to the equation knows what their democratic opponents are planning before they have even put their thoughts into practice. The current Peace Process is a charade and as always in Ireland the responsibility for this lays at the feet of Perfidious Albion.

Best regards.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  38. Crasher says:

Mickhall,

i would contend that without the “long war”, external forces, particularly EU membership, would have propelled NI to a much more advanced stage than where its at now, despite the intansigence of the DUP and their ilk.

You base view is clear from the wish to blame “Perfidious Albion”, but the perfidy of SF/IRA is being over looked. Honest men like Gerry Fitt, were driven out to perpetuate the “armed struggle” when the need (if it could ever be justified) had dissipated by 1975. Yes, there was sectarian bigotry (i don’t understand why they block that word) but the South was also a sectarian state – it was a symptom of the times. the world has moved on (in most parts) since the 1970s and NI would have moved too had the depth of division not been exacerbated by the IRA campaign. I would also hold the view that the British had clearly indicated their desired to leave NI by the 1970s but could not be seen to run away in the face of an insurection.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  39. Mickhall says:

“i would contend that without the “long war”, external forces, particularly EU membership, would have propelled NI to a much more advanced stage than where its at now, despite the intansigence of the DUP and their ilk.”

Posted by crasher,

crasher,

Basically this is what I was saying in my post, I blame the British government’s for the following reason. I believe in a united Ireland and the island should never have been partitioned politically in the first place.

But more recently despite as you say a majority within England Scotland and Wales being in favor of withdrawal from the north, the British government ignored this and took the advice of those Unionists at home and in the six counties who said the PIRA could be defeated and they were just the men to do it. i e Ulsterisation. This rubbish not only made it an impossibility at
    the time for PIRA to find an honorable ending of hostilities. But as you say the war became a three cornered matter with all outside parties excluded from finding a solution.

The fact the British government has learnt diddly squat from this policy can be seen in Iraq today. Blair and Bush’s policy for withdrawal amounts to nothing more than the Iraqisation of that pitiable war. God help the poor Iraqis. In truth I do not feel we differ much as far as things stand today, especially the main motor of change being the EU and other centres of outside intervention.

After all if there is no border as we know them to be, between Germany and France, who have fought three major wars in the last 150 years, it makes the border between the north and south just plain daft.

Regards.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  40. Mickhall says:

“i would contend that without the “long war”, external forces, particularly EU membership, would have propelled NI to a much more advanced stage than where its at now, despite the intansigence of the DUP and their ilk.”

Posted by crasher,

crasher,

Basically this is what I was saying in my post, I blame the British government’s for the following reason. I believe in a united Ireland and the island should never have been partitioned politically in the first place.

But more recently despite as you say a majority within England Scotland and Wales being in favor of withdrawal from the north, the British government ignored this and took the advice of those Unionists at home and in the six counties who said the PIRA could be defeated and they were just the men to do it. i e Ulsterisation. This rubbish not only made it an impossibility at
    the time for PIRA to find an honorable ending of hostilities. But as you say the war became a three cornered matter with all outside parties excluded from finding a solution.

The fact the British government has learnt diddly squat from this policy can be seen in Iraq today. Blair and Bush’s policy for withdrawal amounts to nothing more than the Iraqisation of that pitiable war. God help the poor Iraqis. In truth I do not feel we differ much as far as things stand today, especially the main motor of change being the EU and other centres of outside intervention.

After all if there is no border as we know them to be, between Germany and France, who have fought three major wars in the last 150 years, it makes the border between the north and south just plain daft.

Regards.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  41. martin ingram says:

Hi Fueseoige,

In regards to my motivation? Well I was first arrested for offences under the OSA in 1999, I fought and won a war to silence me. There are many Journalist who know me well, they know both me and my family. Indeed many have become family friends.

In respect to Martin Mcuinness. I honestly believe he is both a traitor to what you , Mick Hall and I would want to see tonight. A United Ireland. I accept that the Murder of Franko has hardened my attitude towards him, that said I dont rely upon that factor when I state he has a case to answer and his position within Sinn Fein or has an Agent does not allow him a Carte Blanche.

As a member of FRU, then Yes I agree you may have seen me as your enemy. Do you say that because you are / were a Republican activist or is it the romantic vision of us against them?

I am no longer a member of the Intelligence Corps, I am a normal member of the public who is voicing his own opinion upon a range of Issues. You are free to comment upon those views and I am free to comment upon yours.I believe that we have to reconstruct our society, to do that we must all make allowances and be tolerant of others.

In respect to the current goals of the British Govt. I can honestly say that the British Govt do not feature in my thoughts. I am not a supporter of the Dissident viewpoint. I do share their goal as I am certain you do also. I hate violence , it ruins life and is not a vehicle to the goal.

I would like to correct you on one aspect!. I am not a “Rogue” Agent, there others who share my values within the Intelligence community and it is true that there are many who view me as a traitor. But, also there are those who see the principle and indeed help me. Once more though, I dont consider those that defend illegal activity to be worthy of any consideration on my behalf, they do not feature upon my thoughts.

I have never committed murder unlike Freddy so I think your link to this individual is misplaced . Your view of me is a concern to me however, I dont expect you to like me but I would like you to understand me.

For the record I too believe the North would have been closer today to a United Ireland given the benefits and understanding of a United or at least closer European community, IF the conflict had not polarized the two communities in the North to the extent the conflict has.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  42. elfinto says:

It’s depressing to see the likes of Fuisoige accepting MI’s assertions that McGuinness could be a tout. For a start, even supposing we were to take MI’s motivation at face value (bearing in mind that he worked for FRU), he admits that it is only a suspicion on his part for which he has no evidence.

Fuisoige, you are willing to accept baseless allegations against a leading republican from a self-confessed member of the British intelligence community, solely because you are politically embittered with the SF leadership. Shame on you! These are exactly the type of sentiments (i.e. suspcicion) which this type of disinformation is designed to induce and you have walked right into the trap like the fool that you are.

I also note that MI praised the former Provo leadership for their ability to sustain a military campaign. Just exactly what did the previous leadership achieve in political terms? Diddley squat. They were pretty good at putting people in coffins though. Most of them sat down in Dublin or Cork giving orders to their cannon fodder in the North. Why anyone could be nostalgic for this era of ‘true republicanism’ I have no idea.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  43. martin ingram says:

Elfinto,

My allegations are not “baseless”. We have a murder, we have a body we have Agents , we have witnesses, we have evidence, we have a classified document from a British NIO official instructing the police to STOP the prosecution against McGuinness. We also have the Hegarty find, now Republicans like Danny McGRORY , did not trust this man , McGuinness over ruled them. Shall I go on or does it remain baseless? .

Now in respect to effective leadership. The most effective period of PIRA activity was 1980/4 PIRA had the upper hand and was effective, those who dissented from the Adams Coup gradually were marginalised and then were removed.Thankfully.

Genuine and active loyal Republicans dont need to be told when this campaign went pear shaped. Please dont misunderstand me here. I am ecstatic, it was an Intelligence Coup.I make the point in my book, I would defend 99% of all FRU operations.

McGuinness and others come into the 1% equation.

Martin

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  44. martin ingram says:

Elfinto & the other sheep,

A letter from the Irish News. Republicans are indeed asking those very questions that you and others are scared to ask. It appears Sinn Fein is not a democratic party but a dictatorship. Enjoy it, it is the beginning and the end for London.
    December 27, 2005
    “Wising Up”
    In contrast to the Daily Titanic’s sinking, here’s a letter from a “disillusioned Nationalist”, in today’s Irish News. All is not rosy in the garden.

Wising up to SF’s agenda

The Denis Donaldson saga, following on from Stakeknife, is further evidence that the republican movement has been compromised at the highest level for years and comes as no surprise to those of us who have always wondered just who exactly is directing their strategy. Now we know. British military intelligence and RUC/PSNI Special branch currently have such a vicelike grip on Sinn Fein and the IRA that the credibility of the republican leadership is irrefutably damaged within their own movement and makes them a laughing stock with the wider nationalist community. It speaks volumes that senior republicans have stopped short of calling for a full public enquiry into Stormontgate and is indicative that this is only the start and there is something else to hide, possibly informants more senior than Donaldson. To allay such fears and as officials who put so much trust in him surely the least that Gerry Adams and Martin McGuinness should do is resign from Sinn Fein as confidence within republican circles has been completely destroyed. You have got to hand it to Perfidious Albion. They have played republicans like a fiddle and it isn’t hard to see what their policy has been all along. Having penetrated the republican movement the British first set about ending the IRA military campaign on the mainland and then steered Sinn Fein towards a political route where it would be easier to control and manipulate them. After forcing the defeat, surrender and disarmament of the IRA the securocrats have now set about destroying Sinn Fein by creating distrust within the party and undermining their credibility with the wider nationalist community. The desired outcome is thus, the complete defeat and humiliation of Irish republicanism; steer nationalists back to voting SDLP; keep the political aspirations of the Catholic
    community to an absolute minimum and justify the existence and massive
    expenditure of Britain’s intelligence agencies. Those who think this is fanciful paranoia should look at the fate of those members who have been ostracised and banished for dissenting from the Sinn Fein party line. One of those chiefly responsible for keeping people in check was no less than Denis Donaldson so effectively British intelligence has been driving and directing Sinn Fein policy all along. It’s all planning out just as the spooks wanted

I will copy the remainder on the next page.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  45. martin ingram says:

Remainder.

as we witness the slow lingering death of the Good Friday Agreement, a return to the fundamentalist unionist status quo and the sudden re-emergence of the SDLP at the last Westminster election. Sinn Fein and the IRA have become fully (well) paid-up members of the hated British state and establishment they demonised for years and are now virtually controlled by these same sinister elements. Senior republicans have constantly lied to their own constituency and shamelessly taken the Queen’s shilling to end up at the position where rejectionist unionists and securocrats now completely dominate the political agenda. It has become too easy for them as the republican foe has become so compliant, accommodating, submissive, weak and well turned by gold trinkets and silver mirrors. Brits out has become Brits in, thanks very much for the cheque; a United Ireland or nothing has become a devolved Ulster for everything; not a bullet, not an ounce has become here’s a million bullets and three tonnes of Semtex for you Tony. No decommissioning has become total decommissioning as Sinn Fein has taken on the circus role of performing poodles. Indeed they are wearing Ian Paisley’s sack cloth and ashes very well as every principle they ever held has been surrendered in complete public humiliation. It’s only a matter of time before photographs of decommissioning turn up in a full colour portfolio embossed in gold leaf. The ultimate irony and to their eternal shame the republican leadership sent hundreds to their graves and jail knowing, from the 1970s that they had been compromised and always intended going down the political route. They conned their own members for years and are now in a stalemate negotiating ways to administrate the same British rule they spent decades fighting. Is it any wonder the relatives of their victims, both nationalist and unionist, feel so bitter as well as the many republicans who spent their youth and ruined their lives in Crumlin Road and the H-blocks. Mark Durkan hit the nail on the head about Sinn Fein. Their political strategy was driven by a party elite who had a narrow self-serving agenda and the wider republican and nationalist community were only an after thought. There are genuine people within republican circles and its time they spoke up because the nationalist electorate are not stupid and won’t be strung along forever. Senior republicans can sell out and humiliate themselves if they want but the rest of us will not be fooled.

disillusioned nationalist, North Belfast

posted by broom of anger at December 27, 2005 04:45 PM

Very well said – from the heart , I would think .
    I would dis-agree with the writers use of the term “mainland” but , apart from that – it is the truth , as I understand it to be .

Sharon.

posted by Sharon.

You see Elfinto. You cant keep treating these people as fools.

Martin.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  46. Alan says:

Trustless spooks in their augean bliss!

There is one lesson here – that violence distroys everything decent and honest in society, and, if you concern yourself with the political future, that future has to be founded on non-violence. What did Dylan say about the parking meters?

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  47. martin ingram says:

Alan,

I agree society must accept a political future bsed upon non violence.

If Dylan was experiancing difficulties with parking meters, just think what he would say about the wheeel clampers!.

Martin.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  48. Mickhall says:

What did Dylan say about the parking meters?

Posted by Alan

Nor as far as the northern statelet is concerned does one need a weatherman to know what way the wind blows, or to understand that when it was first set up, the vandals stole the handles.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  49. martin ingram says:

Nice one Mick

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0
  50. Crasher says:

Mickhall

But why are people still hung up in the narrow mentality of borders within a united Europe. The majority of our laws (particularly social) are now handed down from Brussels.

What do you think?
    Judge it
    Commend 0

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Copyright © 2003 - 2012 Slugger O'Toole Ltd. All rights reserved.